Organisation chart

General Direction
Camille Pisani
ICT & Multimedia
Patricia Supply a.i.
Human Ressources
Anouk Schoeters
Financial service
Tom Aarts
Technical and logistics services
Gilbert Claes
Security and guard service
Kristel Claes
Marcella Haemelinck
Pierre Coulon (fr)
Hans Van Lierde (nl)
Visitor’s services
Laboratory of Molecular Systematics
Thierry Backeljau a.i.
Patrick Grootaert
Scientific Heritage Service

The Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences is a Belgian Federal State institution. It is part of the Federal Public Planning Service Science Policy (PPS Science Policy), a section of the Prime Minister's Offices.

It is involved in important scientific research activities and carries out public service missions. It is open to everyone through the Museum of Natural Sciences.

The Management Board is responsible for the day-to-day Institute’s management. In addition, the Institute’s General Director is also a full member of the Management Committee of the Federal Public Planning Service Belgian Science Policy.

The Nature Focus Management Commission, which comprises the RBINS and the Royal Museum for Central Africa, is responsible for the financial and practical management of the RBINS.

The Scientific Council offers advice on issues of a scientific nature that have an impact on the accomplishment of the tasks of the Institute.

Go to top