About us

The Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences


After coming here as children, on a school trip or with their families, our visitors generally know the Museum of Natural Sciences fairly well. They do not necessary know about the research institute behind it – the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences.

In this section you can learn about the four essential components of our mission, the institute’s new organisational structure that was introduced in 2013, its Belgian and international partners, its annual reports sinds 2009, and its Strategic Plan 2016-2020.

In 2014 our scientific departments (report summary) underwent a peer review. Subsequently, in 2016, our services to the public and the daily management of the Museum (report summary) were assessed as well. Both evaluations were commissioned by BELSPO (Federal Science Policy).

Would you like to help us in our mission? Find out the various ways in which you can help in the Support us’ section.

 

 

Go to top

Qui sommes-nous

The Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences

 

Pour y être venus enfants, avec l’école ou en famille, nos visiteurs connaissent en général plutôt bien le Muséum des Sciences naturelles… mais pas forcément l’institut de recherche dont il est la vitrine, l’Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique.

Découvrez dans cette partie les quatre grandes missions de notre institution, sa nouvelle organisation mise en place depuis 2013, ses partenaires belges et internationaux, son Plan stratégique 2016-2020, et ses derniers rapports annuels (depuis 2009).

En 2014, l'IRSNB s'est engagé dans une démarche de management intégrée Qualité-Environnement-Safety ; vous pouvez en trouver la déclaration dans le document « Politique Qualité-Environnement-Safety ».

Toujours en 2014, le pôle scientifique de l’Institut a fait l’objet d’une évaluation (Peer Review, résumé en anglais). En 2016, une seconde évaluation commanditée par BELSPO (Politique scientifique fédérale belge) a porté sur nos services au public et le fonctionnement du Muséum.

Vous souhaitez nous aider à remplir nos missions ? Nous vous présentons plusieurs façons de le faire dans la rubrique « Soutenez-nous ».

 

Go to top