Missions

The Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences is one of the ten federal scientific establishments that are governed by the Belgian Science Policy Office (Belspo). It is involved in important scientific research activities and carries out public service missions. It is open to everyone through the Museum of Natural Sciences.

Scientist looking through a microscope
Scientific Research into Natural Sciences

One in three people at the RBINS is a scientist. The scientific personnel includes mainly biologists, palaeontologists and geologists, but also oceanographers, anthropologists and archaeologists, as well as geographers, physicists, bioengineers and mathematicians, which enables us to conduct multidisciplinary research. The research is focussed on the following areas:

  • -Biodiversity and mechanisms involved in the evolution of life
  • -Land, freshwater and marine ecosystems
  • -History of life, the climate and human settlements
  • -Geology of Belgium and modelling the North Sea
The research vessel RV Belgica (photo: RBINS)
Scientific Expertise Aiding Public Authorities

The RBINS provides scientific expertise under Belgium’s international commitments in relation to environmental protection. It develops tools and methods for monitoring natural land or marine environments. It also offers useful advice for the development of national and European policies for the protection and conservation of biotopes and biodiversity.

Damselflies and dragonflies (Odonata) in the collection of De Selys Longchamps (© RBINS, Thierry Hubin)
Conservation and Management of Scientific and Heritage Collections

With 37 million specimens conserved as Belgian heritage of universal significance, the RBINS’s collections serve above all as reference and research tools. Just behind London and Paris in European classification, the collections in Brussels have been awarded the European label of ‘major research infrastructure’ and in this respect are constantly being visited and studied by researchers from around the world.

For several years now, the RBINS has been committed to an ambitious programme to digitise its collections and to do so has developed an open-source software, DaRWIN, which has made it possible to encode all the data on any collection of specimens, whatever their taxonomical group.

The iconic Iguanodons in our Dinosaur Gallery
Dissemination of Scientific Knowledge in Society

For the general public, the Museum of Natural Sciences is the visible part of the RBINS. It has 16,000m² of permanent galleries, temporary exhibition rooms and educational workshops, enabling us to welcome roughly 300,000 visitors each year, approximately 30% of whom are school groups.

The Dinosaur Gallery is world famous and the largest in Europe. The museum plays a leading role in the promotion and dissemination of scientific culture, both within and beyond its walls, notably through travelling exhibitions and events. We are pursuing our ambitious efforts to gradually renovate the premises, making the museum more welcoming and meeting and exceeding our visitors expectations. We also seek to promote a more respectful approach to nature.

Go to top

Missions

L'Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique est l'un des dix établissements scientifiques fédéraux qui dépendent de la Politique Scientifique fédérale (Belspo). Il développe d'importantes activités de recherche scientifique, il effectue des missions de service public et il s'ouvre à tous à travers le Muséum des Sciences naturelles.

Scientist looking through a microscope
Recherche scientifique en sciences naturelles

À l’IRSNB, une personne sur trois est un scientifique. Le personnel scientifique comprend principalement des biologistes, des paléontologues et des géologues, mais aussi des océanographes, des anthropologues, des archéologues ainsi que des géographes, des physiciens, des bio-ingénieurs ou des mathématiciens, ce qui permet de mener des recherches pluridisciplinaires dans les domaines suivants :

  • La biodiversité et les mécanismes d’évolution du vivant
  • Les écosystèmes terrestres, d’eau douce ou marins
  • L’histoire de la vie, du climat, des installations humaines
  • La géologie de la Belgique et la modélisation de la mer du Nord
The research vessel RV Belgica (photo: RBINS)
Expertise scientifique au service des autorités publiques

L’IRSNB fournit une expertise scientifique en appui aux engagements internationaux de la Belgique relatifs à la protection de l’environnement. Il développe des outils et des méthodes pour le suivi des milieux naturels, terrestres ou marins. Il délivre des avis utiles pour l’élaboration des politiques nationales et européennes de protection et de conservation des milieux et de la biodiversité, et d’utilisation des ressources naturelles.

Damselflies and dragonflies (Odonata) in the collection of De Selys Longchamps (© RBINS, Thierry Hubin)
Conservation et gestion des collections patrimoniales et scientifiques

Avec 37 millions de spécimens conservés comme patrimoine belge de portée universelle, les collections de l’IRSNB sont avant tout une référence et un outil pour la recherche. Se plaçant au niveau européen juste derrière Londres et Paris, ces collections ont reçu le label européen de « grande infrastructure de recherche ». Elles sont visitées et étudiées en permanence par des chercheurs du monde entier.

L’IRSNB mène un ambitieux programme de numérisation de ses collections et a développé pour ce faire une plateforme open-source, DaRWIN, accessible en ligne, qui permet d’encoder toutes les données relatives à l’ensemble des collections.

The iconic Iguanodons in our Dinosaur Gallery
Diffusion des connaissances scientifiques vers la société

Pour le grand public, le Muséum des Sciences naturelles est la partie visible de l’IRSNB. Il offre 16 000 m² de galeries permanentes, de salles d’expositions temporaires, d’ateliers éducatifs, et accueille chaque année près de 300 000 visiteurs, dont environ 30 % de groupes scolaires. Il est mondialement connu pour sa Galerie des Dinosaures, la plus grande d’Europe.

Il joue un rôle leader en matière de promotion et de diffusion de la culture scientifique, dans ses murs mais aussi en dehors, notamment par le biais d’expositions et d’animations itinérantes. Il poursuit ses efforts dans le sens d’une rénovation ambitieuse, progressive, pour un musée plus convivial, correspondant toujours mieux aux attentes de la société, et résolument tourné vers la promotion d’une approche respectueuse de la nature.

Go to top