Belgian Partners

The institute is involved in a number of beneficial Belgian partnerships with public authorities, research institutes, museums, and non-profit associations and NGOs working in the fields of education and science. These partnerships concern, for example, research projects, major museum restoration works, management of the Belgica ocean research vessel, and touring exhibitions. Below is an overview of our Belgian partners. 

 

Public Institutions
Directorate-General for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Aid (DGD) 

The DGD promotes Belgian development cooperation and humanitarian aid and falls under the jurisdiction of the Minister for Development Cooperation.
Since 1999 the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences (RBINS) has been supporting the DGD in implementing the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD, Rio 1992) in developing countries.
An in-depth knowledge of how to sustain biodiversity and ecosystem services, as well as raising awareness of the importance of biodiversity, can contribute to reducing poverty and increasing (economic) development. Our biodiversity experts advise and assist the DGD on biodiversity issues related to development cooperation.

A new field of activity within this collaboration is access to genetic sources and the fair sharing of benefits arising from their exploitation.

Website: diplomatie.belgium.be

 

Directorate-General for the Environment (DG5 of SPF Public Health)

The DG Environment is a federal DG that strives to achieve sustainable development in order to ensure a high quality environment for everyone. In Belgium the regions are responsible for most environmental matters. The federal government, however, and DG Environment, in particular in this case, retains important prerogatives.

The DG Environment focuses its activities on, among others, the coordination of international environmental policies, the reduction of greenhouse gases, the execution of the commitments made under the Kyoto Protocol, the recording and monitoring of the transport of waste, and the protection of the North Sea.

There is active collaboration with the various departments of the RBINS for knowledge transfer and monitoring of the North Sea, such as the National Focal Point to the Convention on Biological Diversity (NFP-CBD) and the Management Unit of the North Sea Mathematical Models (MUMM).

Website: www.health.belgium.be

 

Belgian Armed Forces

The Belgian Armed Forces work with various scientific knowledge centres such as the RBINS, but also with organisations like the Research Institute for Nature and Forests and the Institute for Agricultural and Fisheries Research, to map military activities in and around the North Sea. For this purpose, researchers of the Management Unit of the North Sea Mathematical Models (MUMM) have produced an overview of military activities at sea and on the coast (shooting and mine exercises, military aviation, dumping of ammunition, etc.), and are investigating the negative impact of the military presence on protected species and habitat types. This is because not only chemical contamination but also noise pollution, for example, can disrupt the often fragile marine biodiversity. All activity is thoroughly analysed, then several lines of approach are put forward so that measures can be taken.

Website: www.mil.be

 

National Lottery

The National Lottery is a structural partner of the RBINS and, in addition to financial support, also provides funds for purchasing scientific equipment, for example.

Website: www.nationale-loterij.be

 

Beliris

Of the three main RBINS buildings, the Janlet Wing in the Leopold Park is probably the best known. This majestic building houses the Dinosaur Gallery, with its exceptionally valuable collection of iguanodons, and the Gallery of Evolution. In order to modernise and restore this architectural treasure to its former glory, Beliris funded the structural and interior workmanship on the Museum for Natural Sciences’ Janlet Wing. Beliris also contributed to the creation of our permanent exhibition BiodiverCITY and is was a partner in the final phase of the construction of the Gallery of Mankind.

Website: www.beliris.be

 

Public Buildings Agency

The buildings in the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences are the property of the Belgian state. In the history of our institute, the Public Buildings Agency has regularly acted as the developer for renovation and expansion works. For example, between 2003 and 2009 the Public Buildings Agency completely restored the Janlet Wing, which is dominated by the Dinosaur Gallery.
This historic building also houses the ‘Gradin Room’, which is now the Gallery of Evolution. For years this room was closed to the public because it was a fire hazard. Partly as a result of the renovations conducted between 2007 and 2009 by the Public Buildings Agency, this wonderful room is once again part of the museum trail. The Public Buildings Agency also contributed to the creation of the ‘biodiversity wing’, of which the BiodiverCITY hall is a first step. In addition, today the Public Buildings Agency is a partner in the last phase of the construction that will result in the Gallery of Mankind in 2015.

Website: www.buildingsagency.be

 

Brussels Institute for Management of the Environment (IBGE/BIM)

The Brussels Institute for Management of the Environment supports numerous organisations in their environmental education activities. For over twenty years, the Museum of Natural Sciences has offered its expertise when creating new exhibitions, including the travelling exhibitions offered by the Brussels Nature Education Centre (BNEC). The BIM has also financially contributed to the creation of our BiodiverCITY permanent exhibition.

Website: www.ibgebim.be

 

The French Community Commission

The French Community Commission (Cocof) surveys the authorities in the Brussels Region which belong to the French Community in the south of Belgium. In practice this mainly involves culture, education, health and social well-being. Cocof has financially supported projects like ‘Falcons for everyone’ and ‘BioGeoSafari’.

Website: www.cocof.be

 

Walloon Region

A lot of our institute's research programmes were developed after a call for projects in the Walloon Region, or took place in collaboration with them. The Walloon Region often finances specific projects, such as the publication of information brochures about biodiversity. 

Website: www.wallonie.be

 

Flemish Region

In 2010, the Year of Biodiversity, the Flemish Region financed the project BioGeoSafari, and since 2008 it has financed the website ikhebeenvraag.be (I have a question), which was founded by the RBINS in collaboration with other universities and research institutions.

Website: www.vlaanderen.be

 

Region of Brussels-capital

The Region of Brussels-Capital validates research, science, education and tourism. The region regularly finances projects of our institute in these domains. The ‘Views of Brussels from the region’ department financially supports long-term projects like ‘Falcons for everyone’ or the development of temporary or permanent exhibitions such as the Dinosaur Gallery, the Gallery of EvolutionBiodiverCITY or the Mosasaur Hall.

Website: be.brussels/bruxelles

 

FWO

The Fund for Scientific Research, Flanders (FWO) supports fundamental research, amongst others, by funding researchers and research projects after evaluation by experts in Belgium and abroad. On an international level the FWO stimulates cooperation and supports the researchers’ mobility.

Website: www.fwo.be

 

FNRS

The Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique (FNRS) – the French Belgian counterpart of the FWO – supports fundamental science by funding individual researchers at Walloon or Brussels universities, and by funding research programmes. Many researchers at the RBINS have been financially supported by FNRS.

Website: www.fnrs.be

Research Institutes
Royal Museum for Central Africa  

The RMCA manages all scientific heritage related to Africa. The enormous collections contain more than 17 million animal specimens, minerals, pictures, films, ethnographic objects and documents. There are always temporary exhibitions being held in the museum , with the aim of informing the general public about the wealth of African culture. Moreover, as a scientific institution, the RMCA is an important international player in terms of African expertise. The museum's scientists produce more than 300 publications every year.

The RMCA also works with the RBINS on a number of scientific projects. The Congo Biodiversity Initiative was established in conjunction with the RMCA and other organisations to protect and develop the rich biodiversity of the Congo basin.

Website: www.africamuseum.be

 

Botanic Garden Meise

The Botanic Garden Meise has a rich collection of living and non-living plants, as well as a seed bank which includes seeds from endangered indigenous plant species. The botanic gardens also have an extensive library.

Website: www.br.fgov.be

Museums' Associations

All our Belgian partner museums belong to these associations:

 
Brussels Museums Council

The Brussels Museums Council (BMC) is the umbrella organisation for the museums of Brussels. The BMC organises numerous activities centred around the museums of Brussels, such as the Brussels Museums Nocturnes and Museum Night Fever. The RBINS is a member of the Brussels Museums Council and therefore regularly participates in its activities.

Website: www.brusselsmuseums.be

 

ICOM Flanders and ICOM Belgium Wallonia/Brussels 

These associations of museums and museum workers aim to be knowledge hubs where new information and knowledge about this specialist field is circulated.

Websites: www.icom-vlaanderen.be and www.icom-wb.museum

Education
ProBio

PROBIO is the association of biology teachers in the French and German speaking communities of Belgium. The association aims to revalue the profession, unite biology teachers, especially teachers of different education levels and school networks, and to increase their audience outside the school gates. PROBIO also organises the biology olympiad (www.olympiades.be), a yearly competition for 3rd year secondary school students.

Website: www.probio.be

 

VOB

The VOB is the Association for Teaching Biology, the Environment and Health. This non-profit association promotes the study of biology, the environment and health. It is responsible, for example, for the selection tests for the Flemish Biology Olympiad. The yearly Flemish Congress for science teachers is organised under the auspices of the VOB and VeLeWE. The registered office of the VOB is in the RBINS. 

Website: www.vob-ond.be

 

Association pour la Diffusion de l'information archéologique (ADIA)

The ADIA is a non-profit association that was established in 1985, and is located in the RBINS. Its aim is to improve the dissemination of the public of knowledge of prehistory and archaeology. To achieve this, ADIA has created educational workshops for schoolchildren, and produced booklets for teachers.

RBINS and the ADIA have worked together on projects such as a brochure about the Ishango bone, which you can find here (in French).

Website: adia.naturalsciences.be

 

Science
BE-TAF 

BE-TAF stands for ‘BElgian Taxonomic Access Facilities’ and is made up of the three major institutions that conduct taxonomic research: the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences and the Royal Museum for Central Africa and the Botanic Garden Meise.
SYNTHESYS, a European science project that arose from CETAF, enables access to 337,204,000 specimens that are conservated and managed at the major European Institutes of Natural Sciences. 

Website: BE-TAF / All CETAF-members

Website: www.synthesis.info

 

King Leopold III Fund for Nature Exploration and Conservation

The King Leopold III Fund aims to promote the study and conservation of nature. On a practical level, the King Leopold III Fund contributes primarily to financing expeditions outside Europe. These explorations are designed to study extant biodiversity, as well as people who are intensely related to nature. The registered office of the association is located in the RBINS.

Website: www.naturalsciences.be/LIII

 

ARABEL

ARABEL (ARAchnologia BELgica) was established on the 27th of October 1976 during a meeting at the RBINS in Brussels. Initially it was just a working group without a clear structure, whose members exchanged ideas and data, helped each other with difficult identifications and sometimes organised excursions. In 1986 ARABEL became a non-profit organisation with a formal statute, chair, etc. The current chair is the RBINS scientist and arachnologist Léon Baert.

At present, ARABEL is involved in developing the Belgian Arachnofauna Database.

Website: arabel.ugent.be

 

Royal Belgian Entomological Society

The Royal Belgian Entomological Society is a non-profit organisation that was established on the 9th of April 1855 and based in the RBINS. It aims to stimulate the study of insects through events, publications and pedagogical activities. The Royal Belgian Association for Entomology publishes the journals Bulletin of the Royal Belgian Association for Entomology and the Journal of Entomology

 

Website: www.srbe-kbve.be

 

Geologica Belgica

Geologica Belgica is a Belgian bilingual non-profit association established in Brussels, whose aim is to contribute to the development of earth sciences and related areas, and to facilitate the exchanging of knowledge and scientific research. The RBINS is represented in its board, as are all the major universities and other institutes involved in earth sciences in Belgium.

Website: www.geologicabelgica.be

 

Belgian Group for Underwater Scientific Research

The GBRS was established in 1955 as a scientific diving association. The members of the GBRS actively contribute to underwater scientific research by organising training courses and expeditions. The association is active in Louvain-la-Neuve and Brussels.

Website: www.gbrs.be

 

Royal Belgian Society for Zoology

The Royal Belgian Zoological Society is a non-profit organisation that aims to stimulate zoological research in Belgium. Every year it organises the 'Benelux Congress of Zoology' and the 'Biology Master Day', a free event intended to encourage final year students to choose further study in biology. In collaboration with the RBINS it also publishes the Belgian Journal of Zoology, which covers a broad range of zoological disciplines. The organisation is based in the RBINS.

Website: rbzs.myspecies.info

 

Royal Belgian Society of Anthropology and Prehistory

The Royal Belgian Society of Anthropology and Prehistory brings both Belgian and foreign, professional and non-professional researchers together, who specialise in prehistoric archaeology, physical anthropology, genetic anthropology and human palaeontology.

Website: srbap.naturalsciences.be

 

The Belgium-Luxembourg Union of Geologists

The BLUG is a professional association that represents professional geologists and geology students from Belgium and Luxembourg in the various government authorities. The BLUG also aims to promote the study of geology among the general public. The RBINS is represented in the BLUG Board.

Website: www.blug-ublg.be

 

European Federation of Geologists

The European Federation of Geologists is an NGO that was established in 1981. It is a professional organisation that aims to contribute to safer and more sustainable use of our natural environment, by informing the public and promoting more responsible use of natural resources.  The EFG is based in the Belgian Geological Service, one of the departments of the RBINS.

Website: eurogeologists.eu

 

BeWiSe - Belgian Women in Science

BeWiSe promotes equal participation for women in all scientific disciplines and at all levels in Belgium. Its members belong to various scientific Belgian institutions, including the RBINS. Among the members working at the RBINS are: Frida Decraemer (biologist), Mietje Germonpré (palaeontologist), Justine Jacquemin (biologist), Carole Paleco (international relations and current Vice-President), Marianne Schlesser (biologist) and Isa Schön (biologist, BeWiSe first president and one of the founding members).

Website: www.bewise.be

 

Studia Praehistorica Belgica

Studia Praehistorica Belgica is an association that has been publishing the journal Notae Praehistoricae and monographs, among which Studia Praehistorica Belgica (hence the name of the association). Historically, its activities are focused on the transregional contact group ‘Prehistory’ of the Fund for Scientific Research (FNRS). Notae Praehistoricae reports on recent studies in archaeology and prehistory in Belgium and neighbouring European countries. Studia Praehistorica Belgica discusses specific themes, often as a result of colloquia. Both publications are edited at the RBINS.

Website: Studia Praehistorica Belgica

Go to top

Partenaires belges

L'Institut entretient en Belgique de nombreuses collaborations fructueuses avec les pouvoirs publics, les établissements de recherche, les musées, ainsi que des ASBL et ONG actives dans les domaines de l'éducation et de la science. Les partenariats portent, entre autres, sur les projets de recherche, les grands travaux de restauration du Muséum, la gestion du navire de recherches océanographiques Belgica et les expositions itinérantes. Voici un aperçu de ces partenaires belges.

 

Institutions publiques
Direction générale Coopération au développement et Aide humanitaire (DGD)

La DGD défend les différents aspects de la coopération belge au développement et de l'aide humanitaire. La DGD relève de la compétence du ministre de la Coopération au développement. Depuis 1999, la DGD aide l'Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique à mettre en œuvre la Convention des Nations unies sur la diversité biologique (CDB, Rio 1992) dans les pays en développement.

Savoir comment préserver la biodiversité et les services écosystémiques, ainsi qu’informer le public sur l'importance de la biodiversité sont autant d’éléments qui peuvent contribuer à la réduction de la pauvreté et favoriser le développement (économique). Nos experts dans le domaine de la biodiversité apportent aide et conseils à la DGD quant aux questions mettant en relation la biodiversité et la coopération au développement.

Un nouveau domaine de travail a vu le jour dans le cadre de cette collaboration ; il concerne l'accès aux ressources génétiques et le partage équitable des avantages découlant de leur exploitation.

Site internet : diplomatie.belgium.be

 

DG Environnement (DG5 de SPF Santé Publique)

La DG Environnement est un organe fédéral qui aspire à procurer à tous un environnement de qualité grâce au développement durable. Dans notre pays, l’essentiel des compétences environnementales relèvent des trois régions, mais le fédéral, en l’occurrence la DG Environnement, conserve des prérogatives importantes.

Ainsi, la Direction générale concentre ses activités sur, entre autres, la coordination de la politique environnementale internationale, la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le respect des engagements pris dans le cadre du protocole de Kyoto, l’enregistrement et le contrôle du transit des déchets et la protection de la mer du Nord.

La DG Environnement collabore de manière active avec les différents services de l’Institut, tels que le Point focal national pour la Convention sur la diversité biologique (PFN CBD) pour le transfert de connaissances, et l’Unité de Gestion du Modèle Mathématique de la mer du Nord (UGMM) pour la surveillance de la mer du Nord.

Site internet : www.health.belgium.be

 

La Défense

La Défense collabore avec différents centres scientifiques tels que l’IRSNB, mais également l’Institut flamand pour la recherche sur la nature et les forêts (Instituut voor Natuur- en Bosonderzoek, INBO) ainsi que l’Institut flamand pour la recherche sur l’agriculture et la pêche (Instituut voor Landbouw- en Visserijonderzoek, ILVO), afin de cartographier les manœuvres militaires dans et autour de la mer du Nord. À cet effet, les scientifiques de l’UGMM ont établi un plan des activités militaires en mer (exercices de tir et manœuvres de déminage, aviation militaire, déversement de munitions, etc.) et sur ​​la côte, et examinent si la présence militaire a un impact négatif sur les espèces et les types d’habitats protégés. En effet,  la pollution chimique, mais aussi la pollution sonore, par exemple, peuvent contribuer à perturber la biodiversité marine, souvent fragile. Toute opération est soigneusement analysée et un certain nombre de pistes sont suggérées afin de prendre des mesures.

Site internet : www.mil.be

 

Loterie nationale 

La Loterie nationale est un partenaire structurel de l’IRSNB qui, outre un soutien financier, fournit des fonds pour l’achat d’équipement scientifique.

Site internet : www.loterienationale.be

 

Beliris

Des trois bâtiments principaux de l’IRSNB, le plus connu est vraisemblablement l’aile Janlet, située dans le parc Léopold. Ce bâtiment majestueux abrite notamment la Galerie des Dinosaures, qui présente une précieuse collection d’iguanodons, et la magnifique Galerie de l’Évolution. Pour rendre sa gloire d’antan à cette salle à l’architecture majestueuse et la moderniser, Beliris a financé les travaux de gros œuvre et les finitions intérieures de l’aile Janlet. Beliris finance aussi la rénovation de l’ensemble du « Couvent », l’aile consacrée à la biodiversité dont la première étape est la salle permanente BiodiverCITY, ouverte en 2010. Beliris est également partenaire de la dernière phase des travaux dont l'aboutissement est l’ouverture de la Galerie de l’Homme en 2015.

Site internet : www.beliris.be

 

Régie des Bâtiments

Les bâtiments de l’Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique sont la propriété de l'État belge. Depuis la création de notre Institut, la Régie des Bâtiments s’est régulièrement chargée de la rénovation et des travaux d’agrandissement de ces bâtiments. Ainsi, l’aile Janlet – et sa la Galerie des Dinosaures – a été intégralement restaurée entre 2003 et 2009 par la Régie des Bâtiments.

Ce bâtiment historique abrite également au dernier étage  la « salle des gradins », qui accueille désormais la Galerie de l’Évolution. Durant des années, cette magnifique salle a été fermée au public pour des raisons de sécurité incendie, mais elle fait aujourd’hui partie du circuit du Muséum grâce à la rénovation (2007 - 2009) effectuée par la Régie des Bâtiments. La Régie des Bâtiments finance aussi la rénovation de l’ensemble de l’aile consacrée à la biodiversité dont la première étape est la salle permanente BiodiverCITY, ouverte en 2010. La Régie des Bâtiments est également partenaire de la dernière phase des travaux dont l'aboutissement est l’ouverture de la Galerie de l’Homme en 2015.

Site internet : www.buildingsagency.be

 

Institut Bruxellois pour la gestion de l'environnement (IBGE/BIM)

L’Institut bruxellois pour la gestion de l’environnement/Bruxelles Environnement apporte son soutien à de nombreux organismes dans le cadre de ses activités éducatives sur l’environnement. Le Muséum des Sciences naturelles lui fournit son expertise depuis plus de 20 ans afin de produire et d'animer les expositions itinérantes du Centre bruxellois d'Éducation à la Nature (CBEN). L’IBGE a aussi contribué financièrement à la réalisation de notre salle permanente BiodiverCITY.

Site internet : www.ibgebim.be

 

La Commission communautaire française

La Commission communautaire française (Cocof) gère une série de matières liées de près au quotidien des habitants francophones de la Région bruxelloise parmi lesquelles l’enseignement, le tourisme ou encore la culture. Par le passé, des projets comme « Faucons pour tous » ou le « Biogeosafari » ont bénéficié de son soutien financier. 

Site internet : www.cocof.be

 

Région Wallonne

De nombreux programmes de recherches de l’IRSNB sont développés dans le cadre d’appels à projets de la Région wallonne ou en partenariat avec elle. La Région apporte par ailleurs son soutien financier à certains projets, notamment la publication de brochures informatives relatives à la biodiversité. 

Site internet : www.wallonie.be

 

Le Gouvernement flamand 

Le Gouvernement flamand a soutenu financièrement le projet BioGeoSafari en 2010, Année internationale de la biodivesité, et finance depuis 2008 le site ikhebeenvraag.be, qui a été mis sur pied par l’IRSNB en collaboration avec des universités et autres centres de connaissance en Flandre.

Site internet: www.vlaanderen.be

 

Région de Bruxelles-Capitale

Le rayonnement de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale en Belgique et à l’étranger se fait par la valorisation de ses nombreux atouts, que ce soit dans le secteur de la recherche, des sciences, de l’éducation ou du tourisme. La Région est, à ce titre, régulièrement associée aux différents projets du Muséum des Sciences naturelles. La cellule « Image de Bruxelles » de la Région soutient financièrement des programmes sur le long terme comme l’opération « Faucons pour tous » ou encore le développement d’expositions temporaires ou de nouvelles salles permanentes comme la Galerie des Dinosaures, la Galerie de l’Évolution, BiodiverCity ou encore la Salle des Mosasaures.

Site internet : be.brussels/bruxelles

 

FNRS

Le Fonds national de la Recherche Scientifique (FNRS) soutient le développement de la recherche fondamentale dans la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. Pour ce faire, il renforce la formation des chercheurs à titre individuel et finance des programmes de recherche principalement dans les universités francophones de Belgique. De nombreux chercheurs de l’Institut bénéficient également du soutien financier du FNRS.

Site internet : www.fnrs.be

 

FWO

Le Fonds Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek Vlaanderen (FWO), équivalent du FNRS pour la Flandre, soutient la recherche scientifique fondamentale, notamment au sein de notre Institut, en finançant ainsi des chercheurs et projets de recherche sélectionnés par des experts nationaux et étrangers lors d’une compétition interuniversitaire. Au niveau international, le FWO stimule la collaboration et favorise la mobilité des chercheurs.

Site internet: www.fwo.be

Instituts de recherche
Musée royal de l'Afrique centrale 

Le MRAC gère l’ensemble du patrimoine scientifique concernant l'Afrique. Le musée accueille en permanence des expositions temporaires qui informent le grand public sur la richesse culturelle africaine. En outre, en tant qu’institution scientifique, le MRAC est un acteur majeur de la scène internationale en raison de son expertise concernant l’Afrique. Les scientifiques du musée comptent chaque année plus de 300 publications à leur actif.

Le MRAC collabore également avec l’IRSNB à un certain nombre de projets scientifiques. Ainsi, la « Congo Biodiversity Initiative » a été mise sur pied avec, entre autres, le MRAC et le Jardin botanique Meise, afin de protéger et de développer la riche biodiversité du Bassin du Congo.

Site internet: www.africamuseum.be

 

Jardin botanique Meise

Le Jardin botanique Meise renferme une riche collection de plantes vivaces et un important herbier, ainsi qu’une banque de graines comprenant notamment des semences d’espèces végétales indigènes menacées. Le Jardin botanique dispose également d’une grande bibliothèque.

Site internet: www.br.fgov.be

Associations muséales

Les nombreux musées belges avec lesquels nous avons développé des partenariats appartiennent tous à l’une de ces associations :

Conseil bruxellois des musées 

Le Conseil bruxellois des Musées (CBM) est l'organisation fédérative des musées bruxellois. Le CBM organise de nombreuses activités qui font la part belle aux musées bruxellois, telles que les Nocturnes des Musées bruxellois et la Museum Night Fever. Le Muséum des sciences naturelles est membre du Conseil bruxellois des Musées et participe régulièrement aux activités du CBM.

Site internet : www.brusselsmuseums.be

 

ICOM Flandre et ICOM Belgique/Wallonie-Bruxelles

Elles s’intitulaient auparavant respectivement Vlaamse Museumvereniging  (VMV) et Association francophone des Musées de Belgique (AFMB). Il s’agit de deux associations de musées et de personnel de musées qui souhaitent s’imposer comme un centre névralgique diffusant de nouvelles informations et connaissances sur le sujet.

Sites internet: www.icom-vlaanderen.be et www.icom-wb.museum

Education
PROBIO

PROBIO asbl est l’association des professeurs de biologie qui œuvre en Belgique dans la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles mais aussi en Communauté Germanophone. L’association a pour but de valoriser la profession, de rassembler les biologistes, spécialement les professeurs de biologie des différents niveau et réseaux d’enseignement, d’accroître l’audience des biologistes dans la vie publique. PROBIO asbl organise l’Olympiade de biologie (www.olympiades.be), une compétition annuelle pour les élèves de fin d’enseignement secondaire.

Site internet : www.probio.be

 

VOB

La VOB est l’association pour l’enseignement de la biologie, de l’écologie et de l’éducation à la santé. Cette asbl se consacre à la promotion de l’étude de la biologie, de l’écologie et de l’éducation à la santé. Elle se charge, entre autres, des épreuves de sélection pour les olympiades de biologie en Flandre. Son siège se situe au sein même de l’Institut royal des sciences naturelles.

Site internet : www.vob-ond.be

 

Association pour la Diffusion de l'information archéologique (ADIA)

L’ADIA est une association sans but lucratif fondée en 1985 et hébergée par l’Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique dans le but d’améliorer la diffusion des connaissances en Préhistoire, auprès du public.

A cette fin, l’ADIA a notamment créé des ateliers éducatifs destinés aux enfants des écoles et des fascicules didactiques à l’intention des enseignants. Visitez le site web de l’ADIA, qui participe du même objectif de diffusion, et s’adresse aux jeunes enfants du cycle fondamental. L’IRSNB et l’ADIA ont notamment collaboré à la production d’une brochure sur le bâton d’Ishango.

Site internet : adia.naturalsciences.be

 

Science
BE-TAF 

BE-TAF est l’acronyme de « Belgian Taxonomic Access Facilities » et regroupe les trois institutions majeures de la recherche taxonomique, à savoir l’Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique, le Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale et le Jardin botanique Meise.

SYNTHESIS, un projet scientifique européen, vise à faciliter l’accès à l’information pour les chercheurs dans le domaine des sciences naturelles. Grâce à ce projet, les scientifiques européens ont accès à 337 204 000 spécimens.

Site internet: BE-TAF / Les membres de CETAF

Site internet : www.synthesis.info

 

Fonds Léopold III pour l’Exploration et la Conservation de la Nature

Le Fonds Léopold III a pour objet de favoriser l'étude et la conservation de la nature. En pratique, le Fonds Léopold III contribue surtout au financement d'expéditions en dehors de l'Europe. Ces missions visent l'étude de la biodiversité actuelle, ainsi que des populations humaines vivant au plus près de la nature. Le siège social de l'asbl se trouve à l'IRSNB.

Site internet : www.naturalsciences.be/LIII/FR

 

ARABEL

ARABEL (ARAchnologia BELgica) a été fondée le 27 octobre 1976 au cours d’une réunion à l’IRSNB, à Bruxelles. À l’origine, il s’agissait seulement d’un groupe de travail sans structure claire, au sein duquel les membres échangeaient des idées et des données, s’aidaient mutuellement en cas d’identification difficile  et organisaient de temps à autres des excursions. Depuis 1986, ARABEL est une asbl dotée d’un statut officiel, d’un président, etc. Le président actuel n’est autre que le scientifique de l’IRSNB et arachnologue Léon Baert. Actuellement, ARABEL contribue au développement de la banque de données des araignées de la faune de Belgique.

Site internet : arabel.ugent.be

 

Société royale belge d'Entomologie

La Société royale belge d'Entomologie est une asbl fondée le 9 avril 1855. Elle a pour but d'encourager l'étude des insectes, ce qu'elle réalise au travers de ses activités, de ses publications, ou encore par le biais de ses activités pédagogiques.

La Société royale belge d'Entomologie est une organisation active dans l’étude des insectes et la promotion de celle-ci. Cette asbl, fondée en 1855, organise de nombreuses activités et publie les revues Belgian Journal of Entomology et Bulletin de la Société royale belge d'Entomologie.

Son siège se trouve à l’IRSNB.

Site internet : www.srbe-kbve.be

 

Geologica Belgica

Geologica Belgica est une association sans but lucratif, belge et bilingue, établie à Bruxelles, qui a pour objet de contribuer au développement des sciences de la Terre et des domaines apparentés, et de créer un climat favorable à la diffusion des connaissances et à la recherche scientifique. L’IRSNB est représentée dans son Conseil d’administration, comme l’ensemble des universités et institutions importantes qui s’occupent de géologie en Belgique.

Site internet : www.geologicabelgica.be

 

Groupe Belge de Recherche Scientifique Sous-Marin

Le GBRS, une organisation de plongée scientifique, a été fondé en 1955. Ses membres contribuent activement à la recherche scientifique sous-marine en organisant des formations ainsi que des expéditions. L’organisation possède deux sections, l’une à Louvain-la-Neuve et l’autre à Bruxelles.

Site internet : www.gbrs.be

 

Société royale zoologique de Belgique

La Société royale zoologique de Belgique est une asbl qui cherche à stimuler la recherche zoologique en Belgique par l'organisation annuelle du « Benelux Congress of Zoology » et du « Master Day in Biology », un événement gratuit qui vise à informer les étudiants en troisième année de Bachelier sur les différents Masters en biologie. La Société publie, en collaboration avec notre Institut, la revue scientifique « Belgian Journal of Zoology », qui présente des articles sur un large éventail de disciplines zoologiques. Son siège se trouve à l’IRSNB.

Site internet : SrzB

 

Société royale belge d'Anthropologie et de Préhistoire

La Société royale belge d'Anthropologie et de Préhistoire réunit des chercheurs professionnels ou non, Belges et étrangers, spécialistes en archéologie préhistorique, en anthropologie physique, en anthropologie génétique ou en paléontologie humaine.

 

Union belgo-luxembourgeoise des Géologues

L’UBLG est une organisation professionnelle qui représente les géologues professionnels et les étudiants en géologie de Belgique et du Luxembourg auprès des différentes autorités. L’UBLG entend aussi promouvoir la profession de géologue auprès du grand public. L'IRSNB est représenté au sein du Conseil d'administration de l’UBLG.

Site internet : www.blug-ublg.be

 

Fédération Européenne des Géologues

La Fédération européenne des Géologues est une organisation non gouvernementale fondée en 1981. Cette organisation professionnelle souhaite contribuer à une utilisation plus sûre et plus durable de notre environnement naturel en informant le public et en promouvant une utilisation plus responsable des ressources naturelles. Son siège se situe au sein du Service géologique de Belgique, l'un des départements de l'IRSNB.

Site internet : eurogeologists.eu

 

BeWiSe - Belgian Women in Science

BeWiSe milite pour une participation égale des femmes dans tous les domaines de la science et à tous les niveaux, partout en Belgique. Ses membres appartiennent à diverses institutions scientifiques belges, dont l'IRSNB qui héberge son siège social. Travaillant à l’IRSNB, Frida Decraemer (biologiste), Mietje Germonpré (paléontologue), Justine Jacquemin (biologiste), Marianne Schlesser (biologiste) et Isa Schön (biologiste, membre fondateur et première Présidente de BeWiSe) en font partie.

Site internet : www.bewise.be

 

Studia Praehistorica Belgica

Studia Praehistorica Belgica est une association qui édite la revue annuelle Notae Praehistoricae depuis 1980 et des monographies, dont les Studia Praehistorica Belgica, dont il a pris le nom.  Historiquement, les activités sont calquées sur le Groupe de Contact transrégional « Préhistoire-Prehistorie » du FNRS.

Notae Praehistoricae fait état de recherches récentes en archéologie préhistorique en Belgique et dans les régions européennes limitrophes, tandis que les Studia Praehistorica Belgica traitent de points précis, issus bien souvent de colloques. L’édition des deux types de publications se fait à l'Institut.

Site internet : Studia Praehistorica Belgica

 

Go to top