Temporary Exhibition » Antarctica

  • Young Emperor penguins ready to dive (photo: Vincent Munier)
  • Visitors watching a 360° projection in the Antarctica exhibition (photo: Übersee-Museum Bremen, Foto Volker Beinhorn)
  • Emperor penguins diving (photo: Laurent Ballesta)
  • Luc Jacquet filming an emperor penguin a few centimetres from him (photo: Vincent Munier)

Antarctica

Thu, 17/10/2019 to Sun, 30/08/2020

Explore the Antarctic as if you were really there! The Antarctica exhibition takes you on an expedition to Adélie Land, on the outskirts of the French Dumont d’Urville base. Are you ready? Start in the changing room where divers prepare before sliding into the frozen water in the Southern Ocean with seals and penguins. Join them in the watery depths teaming with strange and beautiful species. When you resurface, you’ll find yourself in the heart of an icefield, just a few metres from an emperor penguin colony. Take a seat and listen to their calls, observe how they look after their young and watch them huddle together for warmth. There is so much to see in this 360 ° landscape!

Antarctica is an immersive exhibition about the heart of the continent exclusively accessible to scientists. Superb films are projected onto big screens, including a final 360 ° projection, while infographics about the lives of animals help you discover the fascinating world of land and marine biodiversity in the South Pole.

Luc Jacquet, the Oscar-winning director of March of the Penguins, presents two contrasting worlds in this exhibition: a desert of inhospitable ice where few animal species live, some birds and marine mammals, and an underwater realm bursting with over 9000 species of fish, molluscs, crustaceans and corals. His impressive and often unique images will make you appreciate the beauty and fragility of the Antarctic!

Free booklet with games, observations, quizzes and information for the whole family.

Antarctica is an exhibition co-created by Musée des Confluences & Wild-Touch

logos Musée des Confluences & Wild-Touch

Thanks to the players of the National Lottery

 

 

Logo Loterie Nationale Loterij

 

 

#antarcticabrussels

 

 

Go to top

Exposition temporaire » Antarctica

  • Manchots empereurs adultes en plongée  (photo : Laurent Ballesta)
  • Jeunes manchots empereurs prêts à plonger (photo : Vincent Munier)
  • Visiteurs devant la projection finale à 360 ° (photo : Übersee-Museum Bremen, Foto Volker Beinhorn)
  • Luc Jacquet filmant un manchot empereur à quelques centimètres de lui (photo : Vincent Munier)

Antarctica

jeu, 17/10/2019 - dim, 30/08/2020

Explorez l’Antarctique comme si vous y étiez ! L’exposition Antarctica vous emmène en expédition en Terre Adélie, aux abords de la base française Dumont d’Urville. Vous êtes prêt ? Entrez dans le vestiaire où se préparent les plongeurs, avant de glisser avec les phoques et les manchots dans l’eau glacée de l’océan Austral. Puis rejoignez-les dans les profondeurs grouillantes d’espèces étranges et magnifiques. De retour à la surface, vous voilà au beau milieu de la banquise, à quelques mètres à peine d’une colonie de manchots empereurs. Asseyez-vous et écoutez leurs appels, observez comment ils s’occupent de leurs jeunes, regardez-les se tenir au chaud en se serrant les uns contre les autres… Il y a tant à voir dans ce paysage à 360 ° !

Antarctica est une exposition immersive au cœur de ce continent exclusivement accessible aux scientifiques. De superbes films projetés sur de grands écrans – dont une projection finale à 360 ° – et des infographies sur le mode de vie des animaux vous font découvrir la fascinante biodiversité terrestre et sous-marine du pôle Sud.

Luc Jacquet, le réalisateur oscarisé pour son film documentaire La Marche de l'empereur, présente dans cette exposition deux mondes contrastés : un désert de glace inhospitalier où vivent à peine quelques espèces animales – des oiseaux et mammifères marins – et un monde sous-marin qui regorge de vie avec plus de 9000 espèces de poissons, mollusques, crustacés, coraux... Ses images impressionnantes et souvent uniques vous feront réaliser combien l'Antarctique est beau, mais également fragile !

Venez en famille avec vos explorateurs en herbe : un feuillet gratuit de jeux, observations et quizz vous est proposé à l’entrée de l’expo.

Antarctica, une exposition co-conçue par  Musées des Confluences & Wild-Touch

 

​#expoantarcticabrussels

Go to top