Temporary Exhibition » WoW – Wonders of Wildlife (rentable)

  • visual of "WoW - Wonders of Wildlife": a tiger running
  • A herd of ibex leap from rock to rock in the exhibition "WoW – Wonders of Wildlife".
  • A herd of ibexes leap from rock to rock in WoW - Wonders of Wildlife

WoW – Wonders of Wildlife

Thu, 15/10/2015 to Sun, 28/08/2016

Displayed at the Museum: 15/10/2015 > 28/08/2016

The exhibition that will take your breath away!

Whether running, jumping or hunting, movement in nature is often powerful, precise, and wild. In WoW Wonders of Wildlife, a herd of ibexes leap from rock to rock; two rival males confront each other; a wolf chases wild boar; a tiger runs majestically and lions hunt fleeing zebras.

Through our amazing freeze frames you can get up close and personal with sights you might have previously only seen in nature documentaries on TV. These acrobatic installations- some displays involve whole groups of several specimens balance on a single paw or tail!- are more than just specimens; they are works of art made by taxidermists. Taxidermy is a unique field that requires the knowledge and precision of a scientist with creativity and an artist’s eye for detail.

In this exhibition, the spectacular panoramas highlight a range of topics including animal behaviour, biomechanics and species and landscape conservation, through videos, objects, and interactive activities set into detailed displays.

 

 

logo Parque de las Ciencias – Andalucia – Granada

An exhibition developed jointly by the Museum of Natural Sciences (Brussels) and Parque de las Ciencias (Granada)

Rent the exhibition

Audience: general public, families with children 8-14, nature film lovers, art lovers as well, school groups 8-14

Surface area: 500-600 to 800  sq. m.

Languages: the exhibition might be displayed in two, three or four languages

Rental fees and conditions: please contact us

 

CONTACT

Domingo Escutia Muñoz : domingo.escutia.ext@parqueciencias.com

Manuel Roca Rodriguez : roca@parqueciencias.com

Tiger
  • One of the tigers on display in “WoW – Wonders of Wildlife”, all are part of the Panthera tigris tigris subspecies.  (Photo: Thierry Hubin, RBINS)
  • Tigers (like the Siberian tiger Panthera tigris altaica shown here) are included on the IUCN Red List. (Photo: Thierry Hubin, RBINS)

Tigers are the largest living members of the cat family.  They run, jump, swim and can climb with ease, which is a real advantage when it comes to hunting. Tigers are solitary hunters who hide in long grass while they wait for their prey to approach. They then ambush their quarry from the side or behind. They kill it in a single bite using suffocation or by breaking its neck. Like the majority of predators, they generally attack young, old or weak animals. These are often hoofed mammals (known as ungulates, such as boar, ibexes or antelopes), or bears, but they have also been known to eat other animals including birds, crocodiles and tortoises.

Since 1986, tigers have been included on the IUCN (International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources) Red List of Threatened Species. In 2010, there were only around 2,000 individuals left in the wild. Who is their main predator? Humans! Despite the tigers’ decline, humans continue to harm them through poaching and deforestation.

In the exhibition, you can admire three Bengal tigers (Panthera tigris tigris): one is posed in mid-run, and the two others as if they are hunting. 

Wolf
  • Canis lupus, the wolf (photo: Domain of the Caves of Han)

Wolves (Canis lupus) are canines, like dogs– one of their subspecies (Canis lupus familiaris). They can be found in much of the northern hemisphere, but in Europe, they were demonised during the Middle Ages and have long been hunted by humans. As such, they disappeared from Belgium in the 19th century– only the big bad wolf from children’s stories remains! Nowadays, thanks to conservation laws, wolves are expanding their territory and returning to Belgium’s neighbouring countries: France, Germany and the Netherlands.

In “WoW – Wonders of Wildlife”, you will discover a wolf “hunting” several wild boar. In reality, wolves hunt in packs; an individual wolf would be no match for a healthy male boar.

Boar
  • Sus scrofa cristatus, one of the subspecies found in India (photo: Bernard Dupont)
  • Sus scrofa scrofa, the European boar (photo: Jerzy Strzelecki)

Wild boar (Sus scrofa) and its domesticated subspecies, the pig (Sus scrofa domesticus), are found throughout Eurasia, where they originate. However, they also live on all the other continents (except Antarctica) where they have been introduced. Such a large distribution across the globe has led to the development of many local subspecies that come in a range of sizes, colours and levels of hairiness.

In the exhibition, all of the boar on display are the Iberian variety (Sus scrofa baeticus) from Spain, including those being “hunted” by the tiger. For this scene to be scientifically accurate, the taxidermist who prepared these animals would have had to use Indian specimens instead.

Go to top

Exposition temporaire » WoW – Wonders of Wildlife (à louer)

  • Visuel de "WoW - Wonders of Wildlife" : un tigre en noir et blanc sur fond orange en pleine course
  • Un troupeau de bouquetins bondit d’un rocher à l’autre dans l’expo « WoW – Wonders of Wildlife ».
  • La scène des bouquetins bondissants dans WoW - Wonders of Wildlife

WoW – Wonders of Wildlife

jeu, 15/10/2015 - dim, 28/08/2016

Présentée au Muséum : 15/10/2015 > 28/08/2016

L’expo qui va, wow !, vous couper le souffle.

Courir, sauter, chasser… Dans la nature, le mouvement est souvent puissant, précis, impressionnant, sauvage. Un troupeau de bouquetins bondit d’un rocher à l’autre. Deux mâles rivaux s’affrontent. Un loup pourchasse des sangliers. Des lionnes rattrapent des zèbres en fuite. Un tigre court, majestueux…

Ce que vous montrent les documentaires animaliers, vous pourrez le voir de près, en vrai, dans des installations acrobatiques, des panoramas spectaculaires, des arrêts sur image époustouflants. Véritables prouesses techniques, certains ensembles ne reposent que sur une patte ou une queue ! Plus que des spécimens, ce sont des œuvres d’art que l’on doit au travail unique du taxidermiste, un métier qui requiert autant la rigueur, la précision et le savoir scientifique que le regard et la créativité de l’artiste.

Quelques touches de comportement animal, un soupçon de biomécanique, une pincée de conservation des espèces et des paysages : le Muséum fait parler ces scènes d'action grâce à des vidéos, des objets, des interactifs présentés dans une mise en scène sobre et soignée.

  • Selfies incroyables garantis !
  • Pour tout âge
  • Gratuit : carnet de jeux WWF pour les enfants sur les animaux sauvages 

 

logo Parque de las Ciencias – Andalucia – Granada

Une exposition coproduite par le Muséum des Sciences naturelles (Bruxelles) et le Parque de las Ciencias (Grenade)

Louer l'exposition

Public : tout public, familles avec enfants de 8-14 ans, amateurs de documentaires animaliers, de photographie et d'art, groupes scolaires (8-14 ans)

Superficie : 500-600 à 800 m²

Langues : l’exposition peut être présentée en deux, trois ou quatre langues

Tarifs et conditions de location : nous consulter

 

CONTACT

Domingo Escutia Muñoz : domingo.escutia.ext@parqueciencias.com

Manuel Roca Rodriguez : roca@parqueciencias.com

Le tigre
  • Un des tigres exposés dans « WoW – Wonders of Wildlife », qui appartiennent tous à l’espèce Panthera tigris tigris. (photo : Thierry Hubin, IRSNB)
  • Les tigres – ici, un tigre de Sibérie, Panthera tigris altaica – sont repris sur la Liste rouge de l’IUCN. (photo : Thierry Hubin, IRSNB)

Le tigre (Panthera tigris) est le plus grand de tous les félins actuels. Il nage, court, bondit et grimpe avec facilité, un atout pour la chasse. Seul, caché dans les hautes herbes, il attend qu’une proie approche. Il l’attaque par l’arrière ou le côté, l’attrape par le cou et d’une morsure, lui brise la nuque ou l’étouffe. Comme la plupart des prédateurs, il s’en prend généralement à des animaux jeunes, âgés ou affaiblis : souvent des ongulés (sangliers, bouquetins, antilopes…), mais aussi des ours et parfois des oiseaux, crocodiles, tortues…

Depuis 1986, le tigre est repris sur la Liste rouge des espèces en danger de  l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (IUCN). En 2010, on estimait sa population à près de 2000 individus à peine. Ses principaux prédateurs ? Les hommes qui, malgré son déclin, continuent à braconner et détruire son habitat.

Dans l’exposition, admirez trois tigres du Bengale (Panthera tigris tigris) : l’un est naturalisé en pleine course, les deux autres en train de chasser.

Le loup
  • Canis lupus, le loup gris commun (photo : Domaine des Grottes de Han)

Le loup sauvage (Canis lupus) est un canidé comme le chien, l’une de ses sous-espèces (Canis lupus familiaris). Il occupe une grande partie de l’hémisphère nord mais, diabolisé au Moyen-Âge, il a longtemps été chassé par les hommes et a fini par disparaître de nos régions au 19e siècle. Seul restait présent le grand méchant loup des histoires pour enfants… Aujourd’hui, grâce aux lois de protection de la nature, il regagne du terrain et est de retour chez nos voisins (France, Allemagne,  Pays-Bas).

Dans « WoW Wonders of Wildlife », vous verrez notamment un loup pourchassant plusieurs sangliers. En réalité, le loup chasse en meute. Isolé, il ne fait pas le poids face à un sanglier mâle en bonne santé…

Le sanglier
  • Sus scrofa cristatus, l’une des sous-espèces présentes en Inde (photo : Bernard Dupont)
  • Sus scrofa scrofa, le sanglier européen (photo : Jerzy Strzelecki)

Le sanglier sauvage (Sus scrofa) et le cochon domestique (Sus scrofa domesticus), sa sous-espèce apprivoisée,  sont présents dans toute l’Eurasie, dont ils sont originaires, mais aussi sur tous les autres continents (à l’exception de l’Antarctique) où ils ont été introduits. Avec une si large répartition à travers le monde, de nombreuses sous-espèces se sont développées localement, variant en taille, en couleur, en pilosité.

Tous les sangliers de l’exposition proviennent d’Espagne et appartiennent à la variante ibérique (Sus scrofa baeticus), même ceux pourchassés par le tigre (pour que cette scène soit scientifiquement correcte, l’artiste taxidermiste qui a naturalisé tous ces animaux aurait dû utiliser des spécimens indiens).

Go to top