Permanent Exhibition » Virtual Insect Hall

  • Close up: Phasme - Wandelende tak - Stick Insect (Vivarium)
  • Close up: Bee - Abeille - Bij
  • Maquette/Model: Fly - Mouche - Vlieg

Virtual Insect Hall

The Insect and Shell halls permanently closed their doors on 18 April 2017. You can still take a virtual look inside the halls thanks to Google Street View (click on the yellow guy down on the right, then select the third floor in the upper banner). You can also get in with Google Maps (drag the yellow guy onto the Institute, then select the third floor in the column on the right).

The Insect Hall is actually dedicated to all arthropods. As well as insects, it therefore includes crustaceans (such as crabs, prawns, and lobsters), chelicerates (such as spiders, scorpions, and acarines), and myriapods (such as millipedes and centipedes).

Did you know that arthropods make up nearly 80 % of known animal species? And entomologists are discovering new ones every day. There should be a whole museum devoted to them!

In this hall, you can study the anatomy of various different arthropods thanks to the giant reproductions of flies, amphipods, and scorpions. You can also marvel at the camouflage of click beetles, stick insects, and hawk moths, and at the variety of sizes, shapes, and colours of beetles, butterflies, and crabs. The bravest among you can even observe live tarantulas up close!

Remarkable Elements

The Butterfly Display Case
  • A totally transparent display case

Unlike traditional insect display cases, our butterfly display case has been designed in such a way that visitors can admire the undersides as well as the upper sides of the butterflies’ wings. You can therefore see the occasionally drastic differences between the two sides. Colours range from the drab to the vivid and from the matt to the iridescent, or even translucent, while patterns include everything from lines, bands, and eyespots to blurred shapes.

The butterflies and moths in the display case are also arranged by ecozone (Nearctic, Neotropic, Indomalaya, Australasian, Palaearctic, and Afrotropic).

Take a tour of the display case and marvel at the iridescent blues of the morpho butterflies, at the Atlas moth or the Death’s-head Hawkmoth.

Educational Beehive
  • The educational beehive

The Museum has its very own beehive in the Insects Hall! If you’re lucky, you might see the queen – she has a coloured dot on her back.

You might even witness the famous bee “dance”. When a bee finds food source, she tells the other bees about it by “dancing”. The other bees follow her by touching her with their antennae. A circular dance means that the food is less than 100 m away. A figure-of-eight dance means it’s further away. The slower the dance; the further away the food. The dance also shows the direction of the food in relation to the sun.

Japanese Spider Crab
  • The Japanese spider crab Macrocheira kaempferi

The Japanese spider crab (Macrocheira kaempferi) is the largest living arthropod and has ten very long legs. The eldest specimens, which can be up to a century old, can measure up to 4 m across! Although ours is very large, it was not as old as this.

Like many other crab species, it mainly feeds on dead animals, although it has been known to kill and eat other crustaceans.

The Vivarium
  • The Mexican red-kneed tarantula, ‘Brachypelmasmithi smithi’

This is the place to go if you want to see live cockroaches, stick insects, scorpions, and tarantulas! Don't worry; there are two layers of glass between you and the occupants of the various terrariums.

Please try to make as little noise as possible: sound vibrations disturb them, and too much noise could make them hide away in a corner where you will not be able to see them.

Go to top

Exposition permanente » Salle virtuelle des Insectes

  • Close up: Phasme - Wandelende tak - Stick Insect (Vivarium)
  • Close up: Bee - Abeille - Bij
  • Maquette/Model: Fly - Mouche - Vlieg

Salle virtuelle des Insectes

Les salles Insectes et Coquillages ont fermé définitivement leurs portes le 18 avril 2017. Vous pouvez toujours les visiter virtuellement grâce au Street view de Google (cliquez sur le bonhomme jaune en bas à droite de l’écran, puis sélectionnez le troisième étage dans le bandeau en haut de l’écran). Vous pouvez également accéder aux salles virtuelles via Google Maps (positionnez le bonhomme jaune sur l’Institut, puis sélectionnez le troisième étage dans la colonne de droite).

La Salle des Insectes est en fait dédiée à tous les arthropodes. Elle comprend donc des insectes, mais aussi des crustacés (crabes, crevettes, homards…), des chélicérates (araignées, scorpions, acariens…) et des myriapodes (mille-pattes, scolopendres…).

Saviez-vous que les arthropodes représentent près de 80 % des espèces animales connues et que les entomologistes en découvrent de nouveaux tous les jours ? C'est tout un musée qui devrait leur être consacré !

Dans cette salle, étudiez l’anatomie de divers arthropodes grâce aux reproductions géantes de mouche, amphipode, scorpion… ; admirez les talents de camouflage des taupins, phasmes, sphinx…, la variété de tailles, formes et couleurs des coléoptères, papillons, crabes… ; et, pour les plus courageux, observez des mygales vivantes de près…

Éléments remarquables

La vitrine des papillons
  • Une vitrine tout en transparence

Contrairement aux vitrines d’insectes classiques, notre vitrine de papillons a été conçue de façon à ce que les visiteurs puissent admirer aussi bien le dessous que le dessus des ailes. Vous pouvez ainsi observer les différences – parfois surprenantes tant elles sont marquées – de coloration (du plus terne au plus vif, du poudré à l’irisé en passant par le translucide) et de motifs (lignes, bandes, ocelles, formes floues…) entre les deux faces.

En outre, la vitrine présente les papillons – de jour et de nuit – par faunes géographiques (néarctique, néotropicale, orientale, australienne, paléarctique et afro-tropicale).

Tournez autour de la vitrine et émerveillez-vous devant les bleus irisés des morphos, les papillons de nuit à têtes de cobra ou yeux de hibou, le sphinx à tête de mort…

Une ruche didactique
  • La ruche didactique

Le Muséum a sa propre ruche installée dans la Salle des Insectes ! Si vous avez de la chance, vous repérerez peut-être la reine : elle a une pastille de couleur sur le dos. Ou vous assisterez à la fameuse danse des abeilles.

En effet, quand l’une d’elles trouve une source de nourriture, c’est en dansant qu’elle en communique l’emplacement aux autres qui la suivent en la touchant du bout des antennes.

Une danse circulaire signifie « butin à moins de 100 m ». Une danse en 8 correspond à une plus grande distance (plus le rythme est lent, plus le butin est éloigné) et indique en outre la direction par rapport au soleil.

Le crabe géant du Japon
  • Le crabe géant du Japon Macrocheira kaempferi

Le crabe géant du Japon (Macrocheira kaempferi) est le plus grand arthropode actuel et ses dix pattes sont particulièrement longues : les plus vieux spécimens, âgés de près d’un siècle, peuvent atteindre près de 4 m d’envergure ! Le nôtre – pourtant déjà très grand – n’a pas atteint un âge aussi avancé…

Comme de nombreux autres crabes, il se nourrit essentiellement d’animaux morts mais peut aussi s’en prendre à d’autres crustacés.

Le vivarium
  • La mygale mexicaine ‘Brachypelma smithi’

C'est le domaine des blattes, des phasmes, des scorpions… et des mygales ! Mais rassurez-vous, deux épaisseurs de verre vous séparent des occupants des différents terrariums.

Un petit conseil cependant : quand vous viendrez voir les araignées, essayez de faire le moins de bruit possible car, dérangées par les vibrations sonores, elles risquent de se cacher dans leur coin et vous aurez le plus grand mal à les admirer…

Go to top