Permanent Exhibition » Gallery of Evolution

  • View of the Evolution Gallery - Zicht over de Evolutiegalerij - Vue sur la Galerie de l'Évolution
  • Scene (Evolution - Evolutie)
  • Scene (Evolution - Evolutie)
  • Scholar group visiting the Gallery of Evolution
  • View of the Gallery of Evolution

Gallery of Evolution

In this gallery, you will travel through billions of years of the Earth’s history, stopping off at six key moments in the evolution of life on earth: the Cambrian explosion, the proliferation of aquatic life during the Devonian era, the conquest of land during the Carboniferous period, the swarming seas of the Jurassic era, the appearance of mammals in the Eocene period, and the impact of humans in the present day.

Follow the adventure of life on earth, from the very first forms of primitive life, to giant fish with impressive jaws, giant predatory birds, whales with feet, up to human beings. We even take a little trip into the future!

Remarkable Elements

The Cogs of Evolution
  • Animated films on evolutionary mechanisms
  • Can you copy a fragment of DNA, without making a mistake?

The ‘satellite zone’ is located midway on this journey through the history of life (at the end of the hall, opposite the geode). Here, you can discover the mechanisms of microevolution and the genetics that underlie these changes.

These mechanisms govern evolutionary processes. With the interactive exhibits in this zone, understanding ideas such as DNA, mutation, genetic variation, and speciation becomes child’s play!

Cambrian Marvels
  • Reconstruction of the Cambrian Marrella splendens
  • Model of the Cambrian species Hallucigenia sparsa

With five eyes, 24 feet, rows of spines, or an armour of small plates, these strange fossil creatures discovered in the Burgess Shale in Canada certainly capture the imagination. They lived during the Cambrian period, the first key period in the history of Life.

Our model-maker worked for five months to meticulously recreate of five of these fantastic animals.

Sea Lilies
  • Crinoid Fossil

Surrounded by marine monsters of the Jurassic era – in the gallery, as they were in ancient oceans – these fossil crinoids, also known as sea lilies, are a feast for the eyes.

Crinoids similar to their Jurassic ancestors still cover tropical seabeds today. They were believed to be extinct for a long time – in fact, these modern species were only identified after the discovery of their fossil ancestors!

The Messel Fossils
  • Fossil of Eurohippus messelensis, a primitive horse, found in Messel
  • Palaeochiropteryx sp., a fossilised bat from Messel
  • Eopelobates wagneri, a fossil frog from Messel

The Messel Pit, near Frankfurt in Germany, is an exceptional fossil deposit dating from the Eocene era, 47 million years ago. The Gallery of Evolution displays some of the most beautiful examples, including mammals (like Eurohippus messelensis shown here), insects, fish, frogs, crocodiles, snakes, lizards, tortoises, and birds.

Don’t miss the fossil of Hallensia matthesi, a small primitive horse that is particularly rare: this is the only specimen in the world that is on show to the public!

In the 250 years of the Natural Sciences Hall, you will discover how all of these magnificent fossils were very nearly buried under a landfill.

Magnificent Giants from the Past
  • Dyatrima, a species of giant flightless bird
  • Dunkleosteus marsaisi, a placoderm fish from the Devonian period
  • Dorudon atrox, one of the intermediary species between modern whales and their terrestrial ancestors

Trilobites dozens of centimetres long; dragonflies with 30cm wingspans; marine reptiles whose skull alone measures between 1m and 1.3m, as you can see for yourself in the Gallery of Evolution, dinosaurs are far from being the only giant animals in the history of the Earth.

The Present
  • Belgian Blue cow

Evolution is not limited to the past: species continue to change. Today, however, human beings are having an undeniable impact on life on our planet. Artificial selection, genetic modifications, overfishing, selective hunting, the destruction of ecosystems, and the introduction of exotic species are all human factors that are causing important changes and even the extinction of many species. However, new species are also appearing without human intervention.

In the Gallery of Evolution, discover the metro mosquito, the desert fish, and many other species that have recently appeared due to or completely independently of the influence of humans.

Animals of the Future
  • Propellonectes russeli, the imagined descendent of the Northern Giant Petrel
  • Trichopteryx dixoni, the imagined descendent of the common brushtail possum
  • Corticochaeris gouldi, the imagined descendent of the capybara

50 million years from now will our planet be populated by enormous rodents, or flying myriapods? It’s not very likely, but from time to time, the museum lets its imagination take over!

That is why here in the Gallery of Evolution you will find five futuristic animals: the scientists who ‘created’ them based them on evolutionary models. Evolution repeats itself continuously, so by observing the past, they can try to imagine what life might look like in the distant future.

Go to top

Exposition permanente » Galerie de l’Évolution

  • View of the Evolution Gallery - Zicht over de Evolutiegalerij - Vue sur la Galerie de l'Évolution
  • Scene (Evolution - Evolutie)
  • Scene (Evolution - Evolutie)
  • Scholar group visiting the Gallery of Evolution
  • View of the Gallery of Evolution

Galerie de l’Évolution

Dans cette salle, vous traversez les milliards d’années d’existence de la Terre en faisant étape à six moments-clés de l’évolution de la Vie : l'explosion cambrienne, le foisonnement aquatique du Dévonien, la conquête des terres au Carbonifère, les mers mouvementées du Jurassique, l'apparition des mammifères à l'Éocène et l'impact humain au présent.

Suivez les aventures de la Vie sur Terre, depuis les toutes premières formes de vie primitives jusqu'à l'Homme en passant par des poissons géants aux mâchoires redoutables, d’impressionnants oiseaux prédateurs, des baleines à pattes… et en faisant même une petite incursion dans le futur.

Éléments remarquables

Les rouages de l’évolution
  • Petits film d’animation, illustrant des mécanismes évolutifs
  • Arriverez-vous à recopier, sans fautes, un fragment d’ADN ?

Dans la zone satellite située à mi-chemin de ce parcours dans l’histoire de la Vie (spatialement, elle est à l’extrémité de la salle opposée à la géode), vous pourrez dénouer les mécanismes de la microévolution et de la génétique sous-jacente à ces changements.

Ces mécanismes régissent les processus évolutifs de façon constante et indépendamment des périodes. Grâce aux interactifs de cette zone, comprendre des notions telles que l’ADN, les mutations et variations génétiques, la spéciation… devient un jeu d’enfant !

Des merveilles cambriennes
  •  Reconstruction de Marrella splendens
  • Reconstruction de Hallucigenia sparsa

Cinq yeux, 24 pattes, des rangées d’épines, une armure de petites plaques… Les étranges créatures fossiles découvertes dans les schistes de Burgess (au Canada) frappent l'imagination. Elles vivaient au Cambrien, la première période-clé dans l'histoire de la vie.

Notre maquettiste a travaillé pendant cinq mois à la reconstitution minutieuse de cinq de ces animaux fantastiques…

Lys de mer
  • Crinoïdes fossiles

Flanqué – aujourd’hui dans la salle, autrefois dans les océans – par des monstres marins du Jurassique, le fossile de crinoïdes – ou lys de mer – est un régal pour les yeux.

De nos jours encore, des crinoïdes très semblables à leurs ancêtres jurassiques tapissent le fond des mers essentiellement tropicales. Considérées comme éteintes depuis longtemps, ces espèces modernes n’ont été identifiées qu'après la découverte de leurs ancêtres fossiles !

Les fossiles de Messel
  • Eurohippus messelensis, un petit cheval primitif trouvé à Messel
  • Fossil du chauve-souris Palaeochiropteryx sp., trouvé à Messel
  • Eopelobates wagneri, une grenouille fossilisée de Messel

La carrière de Messel, près de Francfort en Allemagne, est un gisement exceptionnel de fossiles datant de l'Éocène, il y a 47 millions d'années. La Galerie de l'Évolution en présente quelques-unes des plus belles pièces : mammifères (comme cet Eurohippus messelensis), insectes, poissons, grenouilles, crocodiles, serpents, lézards, tortues, oiseaux…

Ne manquez pas le fossile de Hallensia matthesi, un petit cheval primitif particulièrement rare : c’est le seul spécimen au monde exposé au public !

Dans la salle 250 années de Sciences naturelles, vous découvrirez comment tous ces fossiles magnifiques ont failli être enterrés sous une décharge…

Les géants magnifiques du passé
  • Dyatrima, une espèce d’oiseaux coureurs géants, dans la Galerie de l'Évolution
  • Dunkleosteus marsaisi, un poisson placoderme, dans la Galerie de l'Évolution
  • Dorudon atrox, une des espèces intermédiaires entre les baleines modernes et leurs ancêtres terrestres, dans la Galerie de l'Évolution

Trilobites de plusieurs dizaines de centimètes de long, libellules de 30 cm d’envergure, reptiles marins dont le crâne seul mesure entre 1m et 1,3 m… : comme vous pourrez l’observer de vous-même dans la Galerie de l’Évolution, les dinosaures sont loin d’être les seuls animaux géants que la Terre ait connu au cours de sa longue histoire.

Le présent
  • Vache de la race « Blanc-Bleu Belge »

L'évolution ne se limite pas au passé : les espèces continuent à se transformer… Mais aujourd’hui, l'Homme a un impact indéniable sur la vie sur notre planète. La sélection artificielle, les manipulations génétiques, la surpêche, la chasse sélective, la destruction d'écosystèmes, l’introduction d’espèces exotiques… : tous ces facteurs humains provoquent des changements importants, voire la disparition de nombreuses espèces. Mais de nouvelles espèces apparaissent également sans intervention humaine…

Découvrez dans la Galerie de l'Évolution le moustique du métro, le poisson du désert… et bien d'autres espèces récemment apparues sous ou sans l’influence de l’Homme.

Les animaux du futur
  • Propellonectes russeli, le descendant imaginé du pétrel de Hall (Macronectes halli)
  • Trichopteryx dixoni, le descendant imaginé du phalenger-renard (Trichosurus vulpecula)
  • Corticochaeris gouldi, le descendant imaginé du capybara (Hydrochoerus hydrochaeris)

Dans 50 millions d'années, notre planète sera-t-elle peuplée d’énormes rongeurs ou de myriapodes volants ? C’est peu probable mais de temps en temps, le Muséum se permet un peu de fiction.

Vous rencontrerez ainsi cinq animaux futuristes dans la Galerie de l'Évolution : les scientifiques qui les ont « créés » se sont basés sur des modèles évolutifs. En effet, l'évolution se répètant continuellement, ils peuvent, en observant le passé, tenter d’imaginer à quoi pourrait ressembler la vie dans un avenir lointain…

Go to top