Temporary Exhibition » Brain Twisters

  • Visual of the exhibition 'Brain Twisters'
  • Brain Twisters
  • Brain Twisters
  • Brain Twisters
  • Brain Twisters

Brain Twisters

Thu, 12/06/2014 to Sun, 30/08/2015

Displayed at the Museum: 12/06/2014 > 30/08/2015

Y35, Y0U C4N R34D TH15 F1R5T T1M3! 1T’5 4M4Z1NG WH4T Y0UR BR41N C4N D0!

And yet, it isn’t a magic trick: the brain adapts and learns extremely quickly. But how does it work? What does a neuron look like? How do optical illusions and other conjuring tricks manage to fool it? And what about the brains of other animals?

In our new exhibition you can find out what happens in your cranium, test the performance of your neurons in the Cognitilab, use the Cervomaton to explore the anatomy of your cerebral hemispheres in 3D, get caught out (or not) by our optical illusions, and analyse the cerebral capacities of other animals. Interactive videos and games complete this fascinating journey to the centre of your brain.

Brain Twisters is for young neurons (aged 10 and over) and grown-up brains.

 

This exhibition is a Cap Sciences production, supplemented by the Museum of Natural Sciences.

Who Has a Brain?
  • A man holding an hands-on human brain

With the exception of very simple organisms like sponges, all animals – earth worms, earwigs, octopuses, parrots, humans, etc. – have, if not a brain that is more or less developed, at least a nervous system. So, when did the first brain develop?

Videos, models and interactive maps enable you to understand how difficult it is to date the first appearance of this organ and send you on a journey through evolution and the variability of nervous systems throughout time.

Our collections complete this overview of animals including the magpie, anemone, aplysia, beaver, chimpanzee, dolphin, and more.

1000 Brains, 1000 Worlds
  • Visitors listening to several songs of canaries

Each species sees its environment in a different way depending on the organisation and complexity of its nervous system. This subjective perception also depends on sensory and effector systems, the way in which each species learns to use them and the environment itself.

This zone illustrates, through videos, multimedia and interactive games, four “worlds”, each bringing together a collection of animals which have the same brain capacity: “a world of reflexes”, “a world of programmes”, “a world of innovations” and “a world of culture”.

A Plastic World
  • Three panels of the area 'A plastic world'

For a long time we thought that the brain was wired in a particular way, that like a machine it could not be 'rewired' or changed, and that each zone had a well-defined, programmed and unchanging function. In reality, the brain continues to evolve throughout our life. So what is brain plasticity? What role does it play in the learning process? How does the brain adapt to the events which govern our life?

Videos and digital displays present the advances in neuroscience in relation to the incredible property that is brain plasticity. 

Tricking the brain?
  • A boy seems to stand on a giant chair.
  • Panel with three upiside down faces
  • A short movie about some card tricks

Our brain puts together a perception of the world by interpreting the information that has been picked up by our senses. Sometimes these interpretations can be wrong because the brain tries hard to find meaning even where there isn’t any. In other words, it isn’t infallible!

In this zone, you can experiment with various sensory illusions and find out why (context, speed of change, movement, etc.) our brain interprets what it perceives differently.

Zooming in on the Brain
  • Cabin where a visitor is observing the general anatomy of his brain in 3D
  • Boy testing a sort of pinball machine that illustrates a neural network
  • A few endocranial casts from our collections
  • The endocranial cast of Amurosaurus, a specimen from our Dinosaur Gallery.

The brain has more than 100 billion neurons, each of which communicates with 10,000 of its neighbours. This incredibly complex network can now be observed with the aid of medical imaging.

In this zone you zoom in on the most mysterious organ of the human body, right down to the brain cells. You can also find out about things that can go wrong, degeneration and possible imbalances.

The Cognitilab
  • Tablets to individually test your memory or attention

In this zone, which has been fitted out with 8 touch tablets, you can select the cognitive function you want to put to the test – memory or attention –, you start the game and, once the test is over, the tablet provides you with the keys to understanding this cognitive function.

The tests on offer all come from studies which have been carried out in different neuroscience laboratories.

Go to top

Exposition temporaire » À vos cerveaux !

  • Brain Twisters
  • Brain Twisters
  • Brain Twisters
  • Brain Twisters
  • Visuel de l'expo "À vos cerveaux !"

À vos cerveaux !

jeu, 12/06/2014 - dim, 30/08/2015

Présentée au Muséum : 12/06/2014 > 30/08/2015

3h 0u1, v0us 4rr1v3z à l1r3 c3c1 dès l4 pr3m1èr3 l3ctur3 ! Ét0nn4nt c3 qu3 p3ut f41r3 v0tr3 c3rv34u, n0n ?

Et pourtant, ce n’est pas un tour de magie : le cerveau s’adapte et apprend extrêmement rapidement. Mais comment fonctionne-t-il ? À quoi ressemble un neurone ? Comment illusions d’optique et autres tours de passe-passe parviennent-ils à le berner ? Et qu’en est-il des cerveaux des autres animaux ?

Grâce à notre nouvelle exposition, découvrez tout ce qui se passe dans votre boîte crânienne, testez les performances de vos neurones dans le Cognitilab, explorez en 3D l’anatomie de vos hémisphères cérébraux avec le Cervomaton, laissez-vous attraper (ou pas) par nos illusions d’optiques et analysez les capacités cérébrales d’autres animaux. Vidéos, jeux, interactifs complètent ce fascinant voyage au centre de votre cerveau…

À vos cerveaux ! est accessible à tous à partir de 10 ans, jeunes neurones et cellules grises confondus !

 

Une exposition produite par Cap Sciences et complétée par le Muséum des Sciences naturelles

Qui a un cerveau ?
  • Un visiteur tient un cerveau humain à manipuler.

À l’exception des organismes très simples comme les éponges, tous les animaux – ver de terre, perce-oreille, pieuvre, perroquet, homme… – possèdent, si pas un cerveau plus ou moins développé, au moins un système nerveux. Mais quand le premier cerveau est-il apparu?

Vidéos, maquettes et carte interactives vous permettent de comprendre la difficulté de dater l’apparition de cet organe et vous font voyager dans l’évolution et la variabilité des systèmes nerveux au fil du temps…

Pie, anémone, aplysie, castor, chimpanzés, dauphin… : nos collections complètent ce panorama.

1000 cerveaux, 1000 mondes
  • Visiteurs comparant différents chants de canaris

Chaque espèce appréhende son environnement de façon différente selon notamment l’organisation et la complexité de son système nerveux. Mais cette perception subjective dépend aussi des systèmes sensoriels et effecteurs, de la façon dont chacun apprend à s’en servir et de l’environnement lui-même.

Cette zone illustre, au travers de vidéos, multimédias et jeux interactifs, quatre « mondes » réunissant chacun un ensemble d’animaux qui possèdent le même degré de capacités cérébrales : « un monde de réflexes », « un monde de programmes », « un monde d’innovations » et « un monde de culture ».

Un monde plastique
  • Trois panneaux de la zone "Un monde plastique"

On a longtemps cru que le cerveau était câblé une fois pour toutes, comme une machine, et que chaque zone avait une fonction définie, programmée et immuable. En réalité, le cerveau ne cesse d’évoluer tout au long de la vie. Mais qu’est-ce que la plasticité cérébrale ? Quel rôle joue-t-elle dans les processus d’apprentissage ? Comment le cerveau s’adapte-t-il aux événements qui rythment notre vie ?

Des vidéos et des interfaces numériques vous présentent les avancées des neurosciences sur cette propriété incroyable qu’est la plasticité cérébrale. 

Tromper le cerveau ?
  • Un garçon semble se tenir debout sur une chaise géante.
  • Panneau avec trois visages à l’envers (dont les yeux et la bouche ont été inversés)
  • Un petit film sur quelques tours de cartes

Notre cerveau, en interprétant les informations captées par nos sens, construit notre perception du monde. Mais ces interprétations peuvent être erronées, le cerveau cherchant absolument à donner du sens là où il n’y en a pas. Autrement dit, il n’est pas infaillible !

Dans cette zone, vous expérimentez diverses illusions sensorielles et découvrez pour quelles raisons (le contexte, la vitesse d’un changement, le mouvement…) notre cerveau interprète différemment ce qu’il perçoit.

Zoom sur le cerveau
  • Cabine dans laquelle un visiteur observe  l’anatomie générale de son cerveau en 3D
  • Garçon jouant avec une sorte de flipper qui illustre le fonctionnement d'un réseau neuronal
  • Quelques moulages endocrâniens tirés de nos collections…
  • Le moulage endocrânien du dinosaure Amurosaurus, un spécimen de notre Galerie des Dinosaures

Le cerveau contient de plus de 100 milliards de neurones, dont chacun communique avec 10 000 de ses voisins. Ce réseau d’une incroyable complexité peut aujourd’hui être observé grâce à l’imagerie médicale.

Dans cette zone, pénétrez dans l’organe le plus mystérieux du corps humain, jusqu’aux cellules qui le composent. Découvrez aussi ses dysfonctionnements, dégénérescences et dérèglements possibles…

Le Cognitilab
  • Des tablettes pour tester individuellement sa mémoire ou son attention…

Dans cette zone équipée de 8 tablettes tactiles, vous choisissez la fonction cognitive que vous allez mettre à l’épreuve – la mémoire ou l’attention –, vous lancez le jeu et une fois le test fini, le multimédia vous livre les clés de compréhension liées à cette fonction cognitive.

Les tests proposés proviennent tous d’études menées par différents laboratoires en neurosciences.

Go to top