Annelise Folie has been the curator of the palaeontology collections since 2007, and since the end of 2016 she's curating (ad interim) the vetebrate collections. “I belong to the Jurassic Park generation,” says Annelise. Steven Spielberg’s gargantuan 1993 production caught the imagination many young people in the nineties. “That passion was still with me when I left school at 18, which is why I went to study geology at Namur and Brussels.” In 2001, Annelise then had the opportunity to join the RBINS as a scientific collaborator to complete her Master’s thesis. She then continued at the RBINS to complete her PhD, which she presented in 2006. 

Palaeontologist and curator Annelise Folie
Palaeoherpetologist

Since 2001, Annelise has specialised in palaeoherpetology, more specifically in the study of fossil lizards, snakes, frogs and salamanders. She was first given the opportunity to study specimens from the Maastrichtian era (Upper Cretaceous period) from Transylvania (Romania). She was then able to study specimens from the Lower Palaeocene era from Belgium and studied the impact of the Cretaceous-Palaeogene extinction on European herpetological fauna. Annelise is currently studying fauna from the end of the Cretaceous era to the Oligocene period (between 66 and 34 million years ago). 

At first sight, the ‘herpeto-things’, as Annelise and her colleagues like to call them, seem insignificant, but this is largely because they are not well known. At the end of 2013, in a scientific article published in the journal Geologica Belgica, Annelise created a new family of amphisbaenians, based on specimens discovered in Belgium from the Lower Palaeocene era (around 62 million years ago). Amphisbaenians are legless lizards whose head and tail look similar. When threatened, they raise both extremities of their body at the same time, so that the predator does not know which end to attack. Annelise says “These are really fascinating animals. The oldest known member of this group has 12 teeth per jaw, while modern amphisbaenians only have 5 or 9.”

Left: scolecophidien vertebrate found in Hainin (Belgium). Right: Scolecophidien around a thumb

In 2015, Annelise is preparing a new article, this time on scolecophidians. Behind this bizarre name is a very primitive micro-snake, barely 10 cm long, which looks and lives like an earthworm. Here too, the most ancient example is Belgian. 

Globetrotter

Annelise’s dual role (managing the palaeontology collections and palaeoherpetology research) gives her the opportunity to accompany many international expeditions when excavations are organised by her palaeomammologist colleagues. She has therefore been able to work in Transylvania (Romania), Wyoming, China and India. “Each time, it’s a unique and enriching experience from a human perspective. We can go where tourists can’t and to get to know these regions in depth. It is a bit like visiting the archives of the Institute.” 

Curator Annelise Folie showing the new repositories
Expert in moving

From 2003 to 2009, the Janlet wing (the palaeontology building), which now contains the Dinosaurs Gallery, the Evolution Gallery, and a large part of the palaeontology collections, underwent significant building work. During this period, around 16,000 trays of specimens were transferred to other locations in order to protect them. In 2007, one of the first missions given to Annelise as curator of the collections was to organise and coordinate the transfer of these 16,000 trays (around 1,150 m3) into five, huge, newly constructed Compactus units in the basement of the Janlet wing. This was no easy task. The work had to synchronised with the speed of the building works and faced numerous technical problems.

On arrival, the trays could not all be stored immediately in their definitive place. This is why internal movements are still done every year with the help of a moving firm or interns in order to arrange the trays according to a new layout plan for the collections. 

 

Go to top

Depuis 2007, Annelise Folie est la conservatrice des collections de Paléontologie, et depuis fin 2016 aussi conservatrice ad interim des collections de Vertébrés. « J’appartiens à la génération Jurassic parc », dit Annelise. La superproduction de Steven Spielberg de 1993 a fasciné de très nombreux jeunes des années nonante. « Cette passion ne m’a pas quittée jusqu’à mes 18 ans et c’est pour ça que j’ai étudié la géologie à Namur et Bruxelles ». Annelise a ensuite eu l’occasion d’entrer à l’IRSNB en 2001 comme collaboratrice scientifique pour réaliser son mémoire de Master puis sa thèse de doctorat présentée en 2006. 

Annelise Folie, conservatrice des collections paléontologiques
Paleoherpétologue

Depuis 2001, Annelise s’est spécialisée en paléoherpétologie et plus particulièrement dans l’étude des lézards, serpents, grenouilles et salamandres fossiles. On lui a d’abord proposé l’étude de spécimens du Maastrichtien (Crétacé supérieur) de Transylvanie (Roumanie). Elle a ensuite pu étudier des spécimens du Paléocène inférieur de Belgique et ainsi étudié l’impact de la « crise Crétacé-Tertiaire » sur les faunes herpétologiques européennes. Annelise étudie maintenant des faunes allant de la fin du Crétacé jusqu’à l’Oligocène (il y a entre 66 et 34 millions d’années).

La Belgique : des faunes méconnues pleines de records

Si à première vue, les « herpéto-trucs », comme Annelise et ses collègues aiment à les appeler, semblent insignifiants, c’est surtout parce qu’ils sont méconnus ! Fin 2013, dans un article scientifique paru dans la revue Geologica Belgica, Annelise a créé une nouvelle famille d’amphisbènes sur base de spécimens découverts dans le Paléocène inférieur de Belgique (il y a environ 62 millions d’années). Il s’agit de lézards apodes (sans pattes) dont la tête et la queue se ressemblent. Lorsqu’ils sont attaqués, ces lézards relèvent en même temps les deux extrémités du corps pour que le prédateur ne sache pas par quel bout attaquer. Annelise : « Ce sont vraiment des animaux fascinants. Le plus ancien représentant de ce groupe présente 12 dents par demi-mâchoire là où les amphisbènes actuels n’en présentent plus que 5 ou 9 ». 

Left: scolecophidien vertebrate found in Hainin (Belgium). Right: Scolecophidien around a thumb

En 2014, Annelise prépare un nouvel article, cette fois sur des scolécophidiens. Derrière ce nom bizarre, se cache un micro-serpent très primitif d’à peine 10 cm de long qui ressemble et vit comme un ver de terre. Là aussi, son plus ancien représentant est belge !

Globetrotteuse

La double compétence d’Annelise (gestion des collections de paléontologie et paléoherpétologie) lui a donné l’occasion d’accompagner de nombreuses expéditions internationales lors de campagnes de fouilles organisées par ses collègues paléomammalogistes. C’est ainsi qu’elle a pu travailler en Transylvanie (Roumanie), au Wyoming, en Chine et en Inde. « C’est à chaque fois une expérience unique et enrichissante sur le plan humain. Nous avons l’occasion d’aller là où les touristes ne peuvent pas aller et de voir de près les profondeurs de ces régions. C’est un peu comme visiter les coulisses de l’Institut ».

Conservatrice Annelise Folie montre les nouvelles compactus
Expert en déménagement

De 2003 à 2009, l’aile Janlet (bâtiment de paléontologie), qui contient maintenant la Galerie des Dinosaures, la Galerie de l’Évolution mais également une grande partie des collections de Paléontologie, a subi des transformations importantes. Durant cette période, environ 16 000 plateaux ont été transférés dans d’autres locaux pour les protéger. En 2007, une des premières missions confiées à Annelise en tant que conservatrice des collections fut d’organiser et de coordonner le rapatriement de ces 16 000 plateaux (environ 1150 m3) dans 5 compactus géants nouvellement construits dans les sous-sols de l’aile Janlet. Cette tâche ne fut pas de tout repos. Il a fallu travailler dans l’urgence des rénovations et faire face à de nombreux problèmes techniques.

À l’arrivée, les plateaux n’ont pas tous pu être directement rangés à leur place définitive. C’est pourquoi des campagnes de déménagements en interne sont encore réalisées chaque année avec l’aide de firme de déménagement ou de jobistes afin de placer les plateaux suivant un nouveau plan d’aménagement des collections. 

Go to top