The rich geological collection held by the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences contains rocks, minerals and meteorites, as well as drill cores and descriptions of drillings.

Geologists have been collecting ground samples since the middle of the 19th century and have used them to illustrate their descriptions of the "subsurface". This has led to the creation of a lithoteque, a library of rock samples. The collection is still growing and now runs to about half a million samples drawn from Belgian soil. 

Our drill core archive
40km of Cores

The larger items, the "drill cores", are stored at a different site. If you were to lay these cores end to end they would stretch out for about forty kilometres! They can be freely consulted by researchers, along with the borehole measurements and descriptions. The drill core archives are of huge value today when it comes to locating underground storage places for radioactive waste and detecting shale gas. The very fact that fewer cores are now taken – due to scarce funding – makes the historical core archive even more relevant today.

 

The beautiful white-blue mineral 'cavansite'
Minerals and Rocks

It goes without saying that the RBINS is proud of its mineral collection: a good 30,000 specimens, from the massive to the miniscule, from the immensely valuable to the almost worthless... Of these, 5,000 were found in Belgium and 18 were first discovered and defined here. The Russian minerals and rocks – 800 specimens donated by crown prince William of Orange in 1828 – constitute the oldest section of our vast collection.

Collection of marble stones of the famous architect Victor Horta

The petrology collection contains another 25,000 rock samples from around the world. The collection of Belgian marble, featuring unique samples that illustrate a glorious past, is quite outstanding. 300 million-year-old Belgian marble was used in countless historical buildings, especially during the Baroque period, most famously in the Palace of Versailles. The marble gallery at the RBINS – a showpiece from the 1897 World Exhibition in Brussels – offers a wealth of information about the stone quarries of the late 19th century, which no longer operate today.

 

A piece of the Mont-Dieu meteorite is shown in the Galery of the Dinosaurs.
What a Meteorite!

Most valuable of all is probably the collection of 500 meteorites. Recent Belgo-Japanese expeditions have added even more meteorites from the Antarctic. The centrepiece is the 436 kilogram "Mont-Dieu" meteorite, an 18 kilogram fragment of which is on display in the museum's Dinosaur Gallery. Humidity levels in the meteorite preservation rooms must be kept low, because these space rocks contain iron and will rust. Last but not least, the KBIN holds small fragments of the moon rocks retrieved by astronauts Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin on the Apollo 11 flight of July 1969.

Go to top

La riche collection géologique de l’Institut royal des sciences naturelles de Belgique comprend des roches, des minéraux et des météorites, mais aussi des carottes et des descriptions de forage.
 

Depuis la moitié du XIXe siècle, les géologues ont collecté des échantillons du sous-sol. Ils pouvaient ainsi illustrer leurs descriptions de l’intérieur de la Terre. Une lithothèque – une bibliothèque des échantillons de roche – a ainsi été créée. Cette collection continue d’être enrichie et comprend aujourd’hui environ un demi-million d’échantillons du sol belge.

 

Les carottes archivées donnent des informations sur la structure de notre sous-sol.
40 kilomètres de forage

De plus grandes pièces, les « carottes », sont conservées dans un espace à part. Si l’on plaçait ces carottes les unes derrière les autres, elles feraient pas moins de quarante kilomètres ! Elles sont à la disposition des visiteurs, de même que les mesures et les descriptions de forage. Les archives de forage sont aujourd’hui précieuses pour la recherche de stockage souterrain de déchets radioactifs et pour la recherche de gaz de schiste. Et comme l’on fore moins le sous-sol aujourd’hui – en raison de financements limités – ces archives historiques sont encore plus importantes.
 

Le bleu-blanc 'canvasite' dans notre collection de minéraux
Minéraux et pierres

L’IRSNB est naturellement fier de sa collection de minéraux : elle contient pas moins de 30 000 pièces, des plus grandes aux plus minuscules, des plus onéreuses aux moins précieuses. 5 000 d’entre elles ont été trouvées en Belgique et 18 exemplaires ont été découverts et identifiés ici pour la première fois. La collection russe de minéraux et des roches – 800 spécimens – est la plus vieille sous-collection. Il s’agit d’un don du prince héritier Guillaume d’Orange en 1828.

 

Collections de marbres de l'architecte belge Victor Horta

Dans la collection pétrologique, on trouve aussi 25 000 pierres des quatre coins du monde. Les marbres belges ne laissent personne indifférent : il s’agit d’une collection unique qui témoigne d’un glorieux passé. Le marbre belge, qui a 300 millions d’années, a été utilisé, surtout pendant la période baroque, dans de nombreux bâtiments historiques, notamment le Palais de Versailles. La Galerie des marbres de l’IRSNB – un joyau de l’exposition internationale de 1897 à Bruxelles – offre de nombreuses informations sur les carrières de pierres de la fin du XIXe siècle, qui ne sont aujourd’hui plus en activité.

La météorite de Mont-Dieu coupée pour être exposée dans la Galerie des Dinosaures
Mon dieu, quelle météorite !

La collection de 500 météorites est peut-être la plus précieuse. Elle est régulièrement enrichie de météorites antarctiques grâce aux récentes expéditions belgo-japonaises. La plus belle pièce est une météorite de 436 kilos, appelée « Mont-Dieu », dont un fragment de 18 kilos est exposé dans la Galerie des dinosaures du Muséum. Dans la salle où sont conservées les météorites, l’humidité de l’air doit être faible car ces pierres contiennent du fer et peuvent donc rouiller. Enfin, l’IRSNB dispose aussi de petits fragments de roche lunaire que les astronautes Neil Armstrong et Buzz Aldrin ont collectés lors du vol Apollo 11 en juillet 1969.

 
Go to top