Ecosystems Physico-Chemistry

The ECOCHEM group (Ecosystems Physico-Chemistry) seeks to improve our knowledge of marine, freshwater and terrestrial ecosystems by carrying out analytical-chemical, physical and biochemical analyses, developing these analyses and validating the results. The results are part of our national contribution to international (environmental quality) monitoring commitments and provide a scientific basis for policy decisions and support the study of diverse ecosystems. In other words, our work is carried out for policy support and scientific research ends.

Labo ECOCHEM

We measure the following physicochemical parameters in water: salinity, dissolved oxygen, temperature, pH, total alkalinity, SPM (Suspended Particulate Matter), nitrate, nitrite, ammonium, phosphate, silicate, DOC (Dissolved Organic Carbon).

In suspended material we measure POC (Particulate Organic Carbon), PN (Particulate Nitrogen) and algae pigments (chlorophyll a & b, Phaeo a & b).

In sediment we measure the quantities of fine grained material and algae pigment (chlorophyll a & b, Phaeo a & b).

The quality of the environment can also be monitored through the study of pollutants. In the lab we measure Polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon (PAHs),Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs), brominated flame retardants, organotins, organochlorine pesticides, mostly in water and sediment, but in organisms too. We are the only Belgian lab accredited (i.e. recognised for our strict operating standards) to identify oil pollution through “fingerprint analysis”. In these tests we compare the characteristics of an oil sample against those of a reference sample.

 

Go to top

Physico-chimie des Ecosystèmes

Le groupe ECOCHEM (Ecosystems Physico-Chemistry) souhaite renforcer les connaissances du milieu marin, d’eau douce et terrestre en réalisant des analyses physiques, biochimiques et de chimie analytique, en approfondissant ces analyses et en validant leurs résultats. Ces derniers constituent une contribution nationale aux obligations internationales en matière de monitoring (suivi de la qualité de l’environnement), une base scientifique pour la politique et un soutien aux recherches sur différents écosystèmes. Il s’agit donc autant d’un travail d’appui à la politique que de recherche scientifique.

Labo ECOCHEM

Dans l’eau, les paramètres physicochimiques suivants sont mesurés : teneur en sel (salinité), oxygène dissous, température, pH, alcalinité totale, matière particulaire en suspension, nitrate, nitrite, ammonium, phosphate, silicate, COD (carbone organique dissous).

Dans la matière en suspension, on mesure le COP (carbone organique particulaire), l’azote particulaire et les pigments d’algues (chlorophylle a & b, Phaeo a & b).

Dans les sédiments, on détermine les quantités de matières fines et de pigments d’algues (chlorophylle a & b, Phaeo a & b).

Le suivi de la qualité environnementale passe aussi par la surveillance des substances polluantes. Au labo, nous déterminons les HAP (Hydrocarbures polyaromatiques), les polychlorobiphényles (PCB), les agents ignifuges bromés, les organoétains et les pesticides organochlorés, en particulier dans l’eau et les sédiments, mais parfois aussi dans les organismes. Nous sommes le seul laboratoire belge accrédité (c.-à-d. reconnu car nous suivons des normes strictes) pour l’identification de la pollution pétrolière par l’analyse de l’empreinte hydrocarbures. Pour ce faire, les propriétés d’un échantillon de pétrole sont comparées à un échantillon de référence.

Go to top