GEOINFO

Digitalization of the geological data preserved at the Geological Survey of Belgium (geological maps 110 to 236)

Description of the program

For several years, the computerisation (programs GEODOC and GEOINFO) of the data of the Belgian basement and the new geological cartography progress together. The second one differs between the Walloon Region and the Flemish Region according to their specific goals and aims but also related to geological specificity. The geological cover of the Flemish Region has just finished (at the end of 2002). The geological cartography of the Walloon Area implies a complete field prospecting and will require 15 years of efforts. The GSB is an agent of the data collected uninterrupted since its creation, more than one century ago. The data were initially on paper medium and include the descriptions of outcrop, section, pit, borehole, water data etc). The physical files relate to the samples collected on all the territory in the form of drilling core or cuttings (fragments of rocks collected at the time of drilling by destructive way).

All the descriptive (and interpretative) data (texts, diagram, section, logging of drillings) are gradually computerised and assembled in databases. The topographic map at 1/10.000 is the element of reference of cutting. A geological map at 1/40.000 corresponds to 2 (4 for the last edition) topographic charts at 1/10.000. The development of the geographical information systems (GIS) makes it possible to couple the descriptions of the observation points with their localisation on topographic maps and to carry out the requests on selected topics or delimited areas. Databases available (drillings, sandstone open pits, bibliography, geological maps etc) are added like as many consultable and crossable information layers within the GIS. The workspaces thus created will be consulted in Intranet then, in the long term and gradually, will be open to all in the library. A future development will consist in making the main data available on Internet.

Realization

By geological map:

  • The original paper outcrop maps (1/10.000 and 1/25.000) are scanned, corrected, geocoded and assembled. They are used as support to position the observation points and their transfer onto the topographic charts of IGN. The Lambert coordinates are calculated;
  • Construction of the links between the computerised texts of the outcrops (*.txt and *.FP5) and IGN topographic maps;
  • To build the links towards the specific Belgian geological bibliography (7 publications referred by G VANDENVEN) for each geological map
  • Links between the scanned figures (geological section, photographs, tectonic sketches, tables etc) and description;
  • To build more basic layers - vector and raster geocoded geological maps (1/40.000), aerial photographs, pits databases etc.

Delimitation of the zone covered by GEOINFO

Program GEOINFO progresses from the south towards north and is complementary with the work of geological cartography performed by the Walloon Region in partnership with RBINSc and the universities (ULg, UCL, ULB and FPMs).

 

Related media(s)
Progress report of GEOINFO in September 2003
Points of observation on a vectored geological map
Points of observation on a composite background
biblio
Other member(s)
G. Han
Funding
Financial support by Geological Survey of Belgium
Go to top

GEOINFO

Digitalisation des données géologiques conservées au Service Géologique de Belgique (cartes géologique 110 à 236)

Description du programme

Depuis plusieurs années, l'informatisation (programmes GEODOC et GEOINFO) des données du sous-sol belge se poursuit parallèlement à l'avancée de la cartographie géologique. Celle-ci diffère d'une Région à l'autre en fonction de leurs propres objectifs visés mais aussi des spécificités géologiques sensu stricto. La couverture géologique de la Région flamande vient de se terminer (fin 2002). La cartographie géologique de la Région wallonne implique une campagne complète de relevés de terrains et nécessitera encore 15 ans d'effort. Le SGB est dépositaire des données du sol recueillies en continu depuis sa création. Les données originelles sont sur support papier et comprennent les descriptifs d'affleurements, carrières, coupes, forages, captages,). Les archives physiques concernent les échantillons recueillis sur tout le territoire sous forme de morceaux de carottes ou de cuttings (esquilles de roches recueillies lors du forage réalisé en destructif).

Toutes les données descriptives (textes, schémas, coupes, logs de forages) sont progressivement informatisées et assemblées en bases de données. La carte topographique à l'échelle 1/10.000 est l'élément de référence du découpage. Une carte géologique à l'échelle 1/40.000 correspond à 2 (4 pour la dernière édition) cartes topographique à l'échelle 1/10.000. Le développement des systèmes d'information géographiques (SIG) permet de coupler les descriptifs des points d'observations avec leur localisation sur cartes d'affleurements et d'effectuer des requêtes sur des thèmes choisis ou sur des régions délimitées. Les bases de données disponibles (base forages, base carrières de grès, bibliographie, cartes géologiques) sont ajoutées comme autant de couches d'informations interrogeables et croisables au sein du SIG. Les workspaces ainsi créés seront consultables en Intranet puis, à terme et progressivement, en consultation à la bibliothèque. Un développement futur consistera à rendre accessibles sur Internet les données principales.

Réalisation

Par carte géologique:

  • Les cartes d'affleurement papier (1/10.000 et 1/25.000) sont scannées, corrigées, géoréférencées et assemblées. Elles servent de support pour positionner les points d'observation et leur transfert sur les cartes topographiques de l'IGN. Les coordonnées Lambert sont calculées;
  • Etablissement des liens avec les textes informatisés des affleurements (*.txt et *.FP5), fond topographique IGN;
  • Construction du lien vers la bibliographie géologique belge spécifique: 7 publications référencées (G, VANDENVEN) et reliées spécifiquement aux cartes géologiques concernées de référence;
  • Liens avec les figures scannées (coupes, photos, croquis, tableaux,) liées aux archives papier
  • Cartes géologiques vectorielles et raster (à l'échelle 1/40.000) géoréférencées
  • Photos aériennes, bases de données spécifiques.

Délimitation de la zone couverte par GEOINFO

Le programme GEOINFO progresse du Sud vers le Nord en étant complémentaire avec le travail de cartographie réalisé par la RW en partenariat avec l'IRScNB et les universités (ULg, UCL, ULB et FPMs).

 

Document(s)
État des lieux en septembre 2003
Points d'observation (triés en fonction de leur nature) sur une carte géologique vectorisée
Autre série de points sur un double fond constitué par une carte topographique IGN et une photo aérienne de la région de Rochefort
La boite de dialogue montre une vue très partielle (en nombre d'enregistrements et de colonnes) de la base de données « bibliographie » associée à la seule carte 186W - Rochefort. Les titres des articles sont présentés dans la langue de publication.
Collaborateurs externes
G. Han
Funding
Fonds propres du SGB
Go to top