DB-ARCO: Databank of slate and coticule

Description

Creation of a Geographical Information System (GIS) to model the geological data of the underground workings of the slate and coticule deposists in the commune of Vielsalm.

It is thus important to structure the geological and mining information still available. A large number of underground workings exploited the layers of slates and coticule on the territory of the commune of Vielsalm as well as in the neighbouring communes. Many plans of exploitation exist and have been digitalized within a GIS system. The localization of underground slate workings in nature reserve's, as well as the development of cultural tourism (industrial archeology) in this part of the "High Ardenne" requires a management plan and a valorization strategy for this heritage.

Realisation

The principal data (available to the Walloon Region, the Archives of the State, the Center for History of Sciences and Techniques, the Geological Survey of Belgium) related to the plans of the underground workings (at scale 1/100) were digitized, georeferenced in GIS, and have been vectorized. A data base is constructed to integrate geological information and "underground workings" techniques described on the plans (type and localization of the galleries entries, shafts; length of the galleries, surface and volume of the exploited rooms, owner of the concession, exploitation dates, etc).

Fieldwork will be necessary to compare the cartographic data with the topographic reality and will include:

  • GPS measurements of the galleries entries, extraction and ventilation shafts,
  • location of mining infrastructures related to the underground workings,
  • location of possible collapse zones related to the underground workings, etc.

The project focuses, in a first phase (see figure), on the slate (in blue) and coticule (in yellow) deposits, indicated in the commune of Vielsalm. Other slate deposits of Belgium will be included in the project in a second phase.

Related media(s)
Area covered by the program DB-ARCO
Other member(s)
C. Mullard (geologist, GSB)
D. Pacyna (mining ingeneer, Walloon Region - DGRNE)
A. Hanson (geologist, Fondation Universitaire Luxembourgeoise)
C. Hemroulle (graduate, DNF, Quartering of Vielsalm)
J. Fairon (biologist, RBINS)
Go to top

DB-ARCO: Databank of slate and coticule

Description

Création d'un Système d'Information Géographique (SIG) pour modéliser les données géologiques de l'exploitation souterraine des ardoisières et du coticule sur la commune de Vielsalm.

De nombreuses exploitations souterraines ont exploité les niveaux d'ardoises et de coticule sur le territoire de la commune de Vielsalm et des communes avoisinantes. De nombreux plans d'exploitation existent et doivent faire l'objet d'une digitalisation au sein d'un SIG. Il est donc important d'en structurer l'information géologique et minière encore disponible. Par ailleurs, la localisation de certaines ardoisières en site de réserve naturelle, ainsi que le développement du tourisme culturel (archéologie industrielle) dans cette partie de la Haute Ardenne nécessitent la mise en place d'un plan de gestion et de valorisation du patrimoine.

Réalisation

Les principales données (disponibles à la Région wallonne, aux Archives de l'Etat, au Centre d'Histoire des Sciences et Techniques, au Service Géologique de Belgique) concernent les plans des exploitations souterraines (à l'échelle 1/100) qui ont été numérisés, géoréférencés dans un SIG, et en cours de digitalisation. Une base de données est en cours de développement pour intégrer les informations géologiques et de techniques "minières" repérées sur les plans (type et localisation des entrées de galeries, des puits, des cheminées d'aération; longueur des galeries, superficie et volume des chambres exploitées, propriétaire des parcelles, dates d'exploitation, etc).

Un travail de terrain est également nécessaire pour contraindre les données cartographiques avec la réalité topographique :

  • mesures GPS des entrées de galeries, des puits d'extraction et des cheminées d'aération,
  • repérage d'infrastructures minières liées à ces exploitations souterraines,
  • repérage d'éventuels effondrements à l'aplomb de ces zones exploitées, etc.

Le projet se concentre, dans une première phase, sur les gisements ardoisiers et de coticule de la commune de Vielsalm. Dans une phase ultérieure, le projet abordera l'étude sur d'autres gisements ardoisiers de Belgique. La figure localise les gisements exploités de coticule (en jaune) et d'ardoises (en bleu) sur la commune de Vielsalm.

Document(s)
Délimitation de la zone couverte par le programme BD-ARCO
Collaborateurs externes
C. Mullard géologue au SGB
D. Pacyna (mijningenieur, (Ir. des Mines, Région Wallonne - DGRNE)
A. Hanson, Géologue, Fondation Universitaire Luxembourgeoise (FUL)
C. Hemroulle, Gradué, DNF, Cantonnement de Vielsalm
J. Fairon, Biologiste, IRScNB
Go to top