Minerals and Raw Materials Initiative

Raw materials are now more than ever essential for the sustainable functioning of modern societies. Access to and affordability of mineral raw materials is crucial for the functioning of the EU's economy. In that context, it is the duty of a federal Geological Survey to maintain, enhance and promote the expertise in what Europe defines as metallic minerals and construction materials as well from primary sources (ore bodies, quarries) and secondary sources (scrap recycling), but also to participate in the development of a performing mineralogy laboratory with modern facilities.

During the next 6 years fundamental and applied research projects will focus on the following topics:

  • Characterising the physical properties of raw material and minerals;
  • Investigating the mineralizing processes and characterising Rare Earth Elements both in Africa and in Europe;
  • Identifying the source for raw materials (ornamental stones, rocks and ores, pigments, clays, jewels, ceramic,...) of artefacts and reconstructing the commercial ways to the final users (in collaboration with the Quaternary Environments and Humans research program).

Research projects

01/02/2010 to 31/07/2011

Characterisation of hypersiliceous rocks from Belgium

In this research, outcrops of hypersiliceous rocks, ranging form Cambrium to Tertiary in age, are being mapped. The inter- and intravariability within one outcrop and between different outcrops is being studied by a multidisciplinary approach (petrography, spectrometry and diffractometry).
GECO Project
01/01/2009 to 31/12/2011

GECO: Geology for an ECOnomic sustainable development

The Belgian Federal Government entrusted the Royal Museum for Central Africa and the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences to develop a ‘centre of excellence’ oriented towards a sustainable management of natural resources, especially those from Democratic Republic of Congo.
TRACE: Traceability of heterogenite
01/11/2008 to 31/10/2009

TRACE: TRACeability of hEterogenite

The TRACE project aims to develop tools oriented towards the analytical traceability of heterogenite, a secondary cobalt ore in Democratic Republic of Congo. The project is conducted in common with the research centre GECO and the TASK FORCE MIRECA.
La Calamine
01/01/2000 to 01/01/2002

La Calamine

This study aims at identifying the geological constraints responsible for the genesis of the La Calamine deposit, as well as of the deep-reaching gossans of the surrounding Zn-Pb vein-type deposits.
Go to top

Initiative ‘Minéraux et Matières premières’

Les matières premières sont, plus que jamais, essentielles pour le fonctionnement durable des sociétés modernes. S’assurer l’accès aux matières premières ainsi que la disponibilité de celles-ci s’avère crucial pour le fonctionnement de l’économie de l’UE. Dans ce contexte, c’est le devoir d’un Service Géologique fédéral de maintenir, favoriser et promouvoir l’expertise dans ce que l’Europe définit comme les minéraux métalliques et les matériaux de construction provenant de sources primaires (minerais, carrières) et de sources secondaires (recyclage des déchets), mais doit en outre participer au développement d’un laboratoire de minéralogie performant disposant d’installations modernes.

Au cours des six prochaines années, les projets en matière de recherche fondamentale et appliquée se concentreront sur les thématiques suivantes:

  • la description des propriétés physiques des matières premières et des minéraux ;
  • la recherche relative aux processus de minéralisation, et la description des terres rares (Rare Earth Elements), à la fois en Afrique et en Europe ;
  • l’identification de sources de matières premières (pierres ornementales, roches et minerais, pigments, argiles, pierres précieuses, céramiques...) pour les objets façonnés, et la reconstruction des voies commerciales permettant de les acheminer jusqu’aux utilisateurs finaux (en collaboration avec le programme de recherche Homme et Environnements au Quaternaire).

Research projects

01/02/2010 - 31/07/2011

Caractérisations de roches hypersiliceuses en Belgique

Dans cette recherche multidisciplinaire, les affleurements de roches hypersiliceuses, échelonnées du Cambrien jusqu'au Tertiaire ont été échantillonnés et cartographiés. La variabilité des différents faciès a été étudiée par des analyses pétrographiques, diffractométriques et spectrométriques.
01/01/2009 - 31/12/2011

GECO: Geology for an ECOnomic sustainable development

Le Gouvernement Fédéral Belge a chargé le Musée Royal de l’Afrique Centrale et l’Institut royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique de développer un centre d’excellence orienté vers la gestion durable des ressources minérales naturelles et plus particulièrement celles de République Démocratique du Congo.
01/11/2008 - 31/10/2009

TRACE: TRACeability of hEterogenite

Le projet TRACE a pour but de créer les outils nécessaires à la traçabilité analytique de l’hétérogénite, un minerai secondaire de cobalt en République Démocratique du Congo. Le projet est mené en commun par le centre de recherche GECO et la TASK FORCE MIRECA.
La Calamine
01/01/2000 - 01/01/2002

La Calamine

Cette étude vise à identifier les contraintes géologiques responsables de la genèse du gisement de La Calamine, de même que celle des chapeaux de fer profonds qui coiffent les filons plombo-zincifères voisins.
Go to top