Geothermal platform of Wallonia

With the awareness of these last years on climate warming and scarcity of fossil energy sources, renewable energy sources undergo a fast growing development. The geothermal energy has the advantage to be a clean in terms of gas emissions and inexhaustible resource. Environmental risks and effects are very small in comparison to other energy generation systems. In this context the department of « Energie et du Bâtiment Durable (DGO4) du Service Public de Wallonie (SPW)» asks the GSB to evaluate the deep geothermal potential (› 300 m) of Wallonia.

Two different geothermal energies are considered here (from Vision 2020-2030, ETP-RHC Geothermal Panel, EGEC report):

  • low and medium enthalpy (deep aquifers exploitation with a temperature T comprising between: 30°C ‹ T ‹ 150°C );
  • high enthalpy (Enhanced Geothermal System (EGS) or Hot Dry Rock (HDR)) with temperature 
    T › 150°C.

This project consisted in :

  • preparing and collecting data linked to deep geological structure and geothermal resource of the Walloon underground;
  • deducing two maps of geothermal energy interests: one for low to medium depth (300-3000 m), and another one for great depth (3000-6000 m).
  • This data will be published in next months through the cartographic portail of the SPW (DCO3).

In parallel, a 3D modelling of the Liège coal-measures basin and the top of carboniferous limestones was established. (Subcontractor: Geology Department, Laboratory of Georisk and Environment, University of Liège, Prof. Hans-Balder Havenith ).

Additionally, the Geoforma company (Vinciane Stenmans, independant Geologist), subcontractor of the project, provided her contribution of drilling companies expertise (technical aspects) and her recommendations for prospective drilling.

Related media(s)
Havelange borehole thermometry
Other member(s)
Hans-Balder Havenith (ULg)
Vinciane Stenmans (VS.GEOFORMA)
Funding
This project was financed by the Wallonia Public Service
Partners and sponsors
Go to top

Plateforme géothermique de la Wallonie

Avec la prise de conscience de ces dernières années sur le réchauffement climatique, et la raréfaction annoncée des sources d’énergies fossiles, le développement des sources d’énergies renouvelables est en pleine croissance. La géothermie possède l’avantage d’être une ressource propre en termes d’émission de gaz et inépuisable. Les risques et effets environnementaux sont très faibles comparés aux autres systèmes de production d’énergie. Dans ce contexte le département de l’Energie et du Bâtiment Durable (DGO4) du Service public de Wallonie (SPW) a chargé le Service géologique de Belgique d’une étude visant à déterminer le potentiel géothermique profond (› 300 m) de la Wallonie.

Deux types de géothermie sont considérées ici (d’après Vision 2020-2030, ETP-RHC Geothermal Panel, rapport de l’EGEC):

  • la géothermie basse et moyenne enthalpie (exploitation des aquifères profonds avec une température (T) comprise entre: 30°C ‹ T ‹ 150°C);
  • la géothermie haute enthalpie (Enhanced Geothermal System (EGS) ou Hot Dry Rock (HDR)) avec des températures T › 150°C.

Ce projet a consisté à :

  • préparer et collecter les données ayant un lien avec la structure géologique profonde et la ressource géothermique du sous-sol wallon;
  • en déduire deux cartes d'intérêt géothermique: l'une pour la faible à moyenne profondeur (300-3000 m) et l'autre pour la grande profondeur (3000-6000 m).
  • L'ensemble de ces données devraient être intégrées au portail cartographique du SPW (DGO3) dans les mois qui viennent.

En parallèle, une modélisation en 3 dimensions du bassin houiller de Liège a été établie. (Sous-traitant: Département de Géologie, Laboratoire Géorisques et Environnement, Université de Liège, Prof. Hans-Balder Havenith).

De plus, la société Geoforma (Vinciane Stenmans, géologue indépendante), également sous-traitant du projet, s'est chargée d’apporter son expertise en matière de forages (aspects techniques) et ses recommandations pour les futurs forages de reconnaissance.

Document(s)
Thermométrie du sondage d'Havelange
Collaborateurs externes
Hans-Balder Havenith (ULg)
Vinciane Stenmans (VS.GEOFORMA)
Funding
Ce projet est financé par le Service Public de Wallonie
Partenaires et sponsors
Go to top