ThermoMap

The ThermoMap project started in September 2010, for a 3 year duration. ThermoMap is an EC co-funded project (FP7-ICT Policy Support Programme) for mapping the potential of very shallow geothermal energy in Europe.

By September 2013, ThermoMap aims at fostering the environment information in order to develop shallow geothermal systems across Europe. Many geographical and geological data exists in the European Member States that is not accessible for the public. ThermoMap will develop a solution to combine the existing datasets for an area visualisation of geothermic resources by soil and groundwater data. ThermoMap intends to visualize geothermal resources in superficial zones of the earth crust to 10 m depth by maps of medium to larger scales.

The ThermoMap project will harmonise and analyse already existing data collections (geological, hydrogeological, soil, climate, land use/land cover and relief geodata) with standardised methods to calculate a value for the geothermal potential on three different low depth levels in order to help finding favourable areas for superficial geothermal exploitation in a very short time and without high costs.

The resulting geothermal potential values will be integrated in an Open Source Web GIS as well as all necessary geodata. Each of the 9 participating EU member states project partners will define an exemplary test area in its country. For these test areas the geodata and calculated geothermal potential values will be shown on cadastral parcel level, while for the entire EU area there will be created a shallow geothermal potential overview map at the scale of 1:250,000.

Currently, 9 countries participle to this project (Germany, France, Iceland, Hungary, Romania, UK, Belgium, Austria and Greece).

For Belgium, two test areas will be covered in detail in order to reflect at least the geological diversity. These are the regions of Ghent and Liège.

Related media(s)
Horizontal system of exploitation of the shallow geothermal potential (1 m depth)
Other member(s)
David Bertermann (coordinator, Friedrich-Alexander Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg)
Funding
Co-financed by the European Union
Partners and sponsors
Go to top

ThermoMap

Le projet ThermoMap a débuté en septembre 2010, pour une durée de trois ans et est co-financé par la Commission européenne (FP7-ICT Policy Support Programme). Le but du projet est de réaliser une carte du potentiel géothermique peu profond en Europe.

D’ici à septembre 2013, le projet ThermoMap vise à promouvoir l’usage des informations sur l'environnement afin de développer des systèmes géothermiques superficiels à travers l'Europe. Beaucoup de données géographiques et géologiques existent actuellement au sein des pays membres de l’Union européenne mais ne sont pas accessibles au public. En combinant les données existantes, telles que les données pédologiques, hydrogéologiques… il est possible d’estimer le potentiel géothermique d’un site. Dans le cadre de ce projet, sera créé un outil de visualisation des ressources géothermiques et d’autres informations. La zone de travail se limite à 10 mètres de profondeur et les informations seront présentées dans un SIG, à une échelle moyenne et plus large.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, les données existantes seront analysées et harmonisées (géologie, hydrogéologie, pédologie, climat, occupation des sols, relief…) via des méthodes standardisées. Le but étant de calculer une valeur de potentiel géothermique pour trois niveaux de sol différents. De cette manière, il sera possible de disposer rapidement et à faible coût d’une information quant à la géothermie superficielle d’un site.

Les résultats de ce travail, ainsi que toutes autres données nécessaires, seront intégrés dans un Web GIS Open Source. Chacun des 9 pays membres participant au projet définira une zone « test » au sein de son pays. Pour cette zone, les données disponibles et la valeur de potentiel géothermique calculée seront présentées pour chaque parcelle cadastrale tandis que la carte au niveau européen sera à l’échelle 1:250 000.

Actuellement, 9 pays participent au projet (Allemagne, France, Islande, Hongrie, Roumanie, Royaume-Uni, Belgique, Autriche et Grèce).

Pour la Belgique, deux zones « test » seront traitées en détail afin de tenir compte au minimum de la diversité des terrains. Il s’agit des régions de Gand et de Liège.

Document(s)
Installation d’un système d’exploitation horizontal du potentiel géothermique peu profond (1 m de profondeur)
Funding
Cofinancé par l’Union européenne Coût réel: 3,87 m €, 1,93 m € financé par l’Union européenne
Partenaires et sponsors
Go to top