Palaeobiosphere Evolution

This research programme aims to study the evolution of non-human life forms in the past and to document the biodiversity changes and the biosphere and geosphere interactions in specifically selected pre-Quaternary sedimentary basins. Its mission is to integrate knowledge and experience in relation to the evolution of fossil biota, palaeoecosystem dynamics, palaeobiogeographic distribution and physical and chemical proxies applied in sedimentary basin analysis into a multidisciplinary investigation strategy.

This strategy will be performed on critical events in the History of Life, which generally relate to periods of enhanced environmental perturbation and evolutionary stress. Intrinsically, there is sufficient potential within the research pool to become one of the major players on the international stage in the fields of fossil vertebrate evolution, biostratigraphy, palaeoclimate reconstruction, mass extinction events and pre-Quaternary sea-level variations.

Research axes

This axis will investigate the evolution and dynamics of marine palaeoecosystems during critical periods in the History of Life on Earth, through the integration of palaeobiological, geophysical and geochemical information. It will contribute to the current global warming debate through monitoring the effects of long-term greenhouse and icehouse conditions and of short-term global warming events (= hyperthermals) on marine ecosystems in the past. Through the monitoring of evolutionary changes in marine biota (biozonations), of sedimentological phenomena and physical and geochemical characteristics (resistivity measurements, gamma ray emission, magnetic susceptibility), the projects linked to this axis will also document and refine the Geological Time Scale across Stage Boundaries and special bio-events.
This axis will investigate the evolution and dynamics of terrestrial vertebrate faunas during critical periods in the History of Life on Earth, through the integration of palaeobiological, geophysical and geochemical information. It will unravel the palaeoenvironmental/extraterrestrial conditions and causes triggering the diversification, evolution and extinction of selected vertebrate clades. The effects of the physical environment on terrestrial tetrapod behavior (e.g. adaptations, selective migration flows of mammals, dinosaurs,..) will also be studied.
Through the holistic study of major fossil localities, this axis will investigate key events in the evolution of organisms, linked to the conquest of completely new ecological niches, including the environmental causes, evolutionary processes, and morphological consequences.
Go to top

Évolution de la Paléobiosphère

Ce programme de recherche a pour but d’étudier l’évolution des formes de vie non-humaines dans le passé et de documenter les changements intervenus dans la biodiversité, ainsi que les interactions entre la biosphère et la geosphère dans le cas de bassins sédimentaires pré-quaternaires spécifiquement sélectionnés. La mission de ce programme est d’intégrer les connaissances et l’expertise en rapport avec l’évolution des biotes fossiles, de la dynamique paléobiogéographique et des approximations physiques et chimiques appliquées à l’analyse des bassins sédimentaires dans le cadre d’une stratégie de recherche multidisciplinaire.

Cette stratégie sera appliquée à différents épisodes critiques de l’Histoire de la Vie, qui se rapportent généralement à des périodes de perturbation environnementale majeure et de stress évolutionnaire. De manière intrinsèque, il existe un potentiel suffisant au sein du pool de recherche pour devenir un des acteurs principaux sur la scène internationale dans les domaines de l’évolution des vertébrés fossiles, de la biostratigraphie, de la reconstitution paléoclimatique, des épisodes d’extinction de masse et des variations du niveau des mers pré-quaternaires.

Research axes

Cet axe étudiera l’évolution et la dynamique des paléoécosystèmes marins au cours de périodes critiques de l’Histoire de la Vie sur Terre, en intégrant des informations issues de la paléobiologie, de la géophysique et de la géochimie. Il contribuera à apporter des arguments à l’actuel débat sur le réchauffement global du climat par le suivi de l’impact sur les écosystèmes marins, dans le passé, de l’effet de serre et de l’effet glacière à long terme, ainsi que des épisodes de réchauffement global du climat (= hyperthermaux) à court terme. Grâce au suivi des changements évolutionnaires dans les biotes marins (biozonation), des phénomènes de sédimentation et des caractéristiques physiques et géochimiques (mesures de résistivité, émission de rayons gamma, susceptibilité magnétique), les projets s’intégrant dans cet axe devront également documenter et affiner l’Échelle des temps géologiques via les frontières de strates et les bio-événements particuliers.
Cet axe examinera l’évolution et la dynamique des faunes d’invertébrés terrestres au cours de périodes critiques dans l’Histoire de la Vie sur Terre, grâce à l’intégration d’informations issues de la paléobiologie, de la géophysique et de la géochimie. Il aura pour but de révéler les conditions et les causes paléoenvironnementales/extraterrestres à l’origine de la diversification, de l’évolution et de l’extinction de certains clades de vertébrés. Les effets de l’environnement physique sur le comportement des tétrapodes terrestres (par exemple, adaptations et migrations sélectives de mammifères, dinosaures…) seront également étudiés.
Par l’étude holistique de gisements importants de fossiles, cet axe aura pour but d’examiner les événements-clés de l’évolution des organismes en rapport avec la conquête de niches écologiques totalement neuves, y compris les causes environnementales, les processus évolutifs et les conséquences morphologiques.
Go to top