IUAP Project: The Land of Sumer and Akkad

Description

This study falls within the framework of the Interuniversity Attraction Poles project (IUAP-DWTC) 'The land of Sumer and Akkad'. The main objective of this IUAP- project is to investigate the interaction between the palaeoenvironments and the development of the social, political, and economic institutions of the populations in Mesopotamia in the middle and late Holocene. In order to present such a complex picture of one of the oldest civilizations of the world, a synthetic treatment is necessary from a varied and extensive array of data coming from different disciplines, i.e. geo-sciences, archaeology, philology and history.

The objective of this study in particular is to investigate the possible environmental and ecological stresses resulting from the changes of social development and the growing agriculture systems; and to assess major changes in the fluvial and coastal environments of the Tigris-Euphrates-Karun Rivers and estuaries during the Holocene.

Realization

The study focuses on two research themes:

  • Remote sensing: to establish maps with GIS and to reconstruct palaeochannels and related irrigation systems based on satellite images integrated with archaeological data. Field control will finalise the mapping.
  • Geoarcheological mapping: to reconstruct palaeochannels, to establish the litho- and chronostratigraphy of the fluvial sediments, to document the palaeogeography of the study area, the elaboration of human intervention on the natural environment. The studied material encompasses existing boreholes and cross-sections, which will be reinterpreted and integrated within a GIS. Additional data such as boreholes, electrical resistivity imaging and 14C dating will be acquired on the field.

 

Related media(s)
Geographical location of the study area (satellite image 27/08/2001 NASA)
Other member(s)
Laetitia Dupin
Funding
Federal Science Policy - Research Programmes - IUAP project, 'The Land of Sumer and Akkad'.
Partners and sponsors
Go to top

IUAP Project: The Land of Sumer and Akkad

Description

Cette étude fait partie du projet: "Interuniversity Attraction Poles (IUAP-SSTC) 'The Land of Sumer and Akkad' ". L'objectif principal de ce projet IUAP est de rechercher les interactions entre les paléoenvironnements et le développement des institutions sociales, politiques et économiques de la population mésopotamienne au cours de l'Holocène moyen et supérieur. Afin de représenter cette image complexe d'une civilisation parmi les plus anciennes du monde, un travail de synthèse est nécessaire. Ce dernier est réalisé à l'aide de données venant de disciplines différentes: géosciences, archéologie, philologie et histoire.

L'objectif de cette étude consiste principalement à investiguer l'impact environnemental et écologique résultant des changements sociaux et du développement de l'agriculture. Il s'agit en plus d'évaluer les changements majeurs de l'environnement fluviatile, côtier et estuarien du Tigre, de l'Euphrate et du Karun pendant l'Holocène.

Réalisation

Cette étude se concentre sur deux thèmes de recherche:

  • Télédétection: établir des cartes à l'aide du SIG et reconstruire les paléochenaux avec leur système d'irrigation sur base d'images satellites combinées aux données archéologiques avec un contrôle de terrain qui finalise la cartographie.
  • Cartographie géoarchéologique: reconstruire les paléochenaux, établir la lithostratigraphie et la chronostratigraphie des sédiments fluviatiles, élaborer la paléogéographie de la zone d'étude, déterminer le facteur d'intervention humaine sur l'environnement naturel. Le matériel étudié comprend des sondages et des coupes existantes, celui-ci sera réinterprété et intégré dans le SIG. Pour étayer le travail, des campagnes de terrain concerneront l'acquisition de nouvelles données: sondages, mesures de résistivité électrique, prélèvements d'échantillons pour des datations 14C.

 

Document(s)
Présentation géographique de la zone d'étude
Collaborateurs externes
Laetitia Dupin
Funding
Politique scientifique fédérale - Programmes de recherche - IUAP Projet
Partenaires et sponsors
Go to top