Directorate Taxonomy and Phylogeny

 

Biologist looking at an insect through a microscopeStaff at the Directorate Taxonomy and Phylogeny study animal biodiversity and evolution, and more specifically, speciation, adaptation, biotic interactions and integrative taxonomy. They pay particular attention to the identification of new taxa (primarily via DNA barcoding), the impact of invasive species, the importance of chemical communication in insects, the effects of habitat disruption, the reconstruction of phylogenetic relations and the creationism versus evolution debate.

The Directorate Taxonomy and Phylogeny possesses significant expertise in the taxonomy of mammals, reptiles, fish, echinoderms (Echinodermata), crustaceans (Crustacea), spiders (Arachnids), the different groups of insects, molluscs (Mollusca), annelids (partim: Oligochaeta), roundworms (Nematoda) and sponges (Porifera).

Our vast collections offer a wealth of reference and study specimens for our researchers who also occasionally work in the field, mainly in Belgium, Antarctica, the Congo Basin, the Galapagos Islands, South East Asia and Macaronesia.

The research undertaken in the laboratories is multidisciplinary – anatomy, microscopy, bioinformatics and, in the Molecular Systematics Laboratory, DNA analysis – and uses the latest technologies such as new generation DNA sequencing (NGS), computed tomography and species distribution modelling.

Although research at the Directorate Taxonomy and Phylogeny is generally fundamental in nature, it also offers applications such as the construction of biodiversity databases (public), the development and application of identification methods and the further development of reference collections.

The directorate also places great importance on services and activities for the general public, organising Backstage Tours, conferences and seminars; identifying specimens; supporting ‘citizen science’ initiatives; publishing general scientific articles and answering questions from the public and media 

Go to top

Direction Opérationnelle Taxonomie et Phylogénie

Biologist looking at an insect through a microscope

Les collaborateurs de la Direction opérationnelle (DO) « Taxonomie et Phylogénie » étudient la biodiversité animale, son évolution et plus spécifiquement la spéciation, l’adaptation, les interactions biotiques et la taxonomie dite « intégrative ». Ils portent une attention particulière à l'identification de nouveaux taxons (notamment via le « DNA barcoding »), à l'impact des espèces envahissantes, à l'importance de la communication chimique chez les insectes, aux effets de la perturbation des habitats, à la reconstruction des relations phylogénétiques et aussi au débat qui oppose créationnisme et évolution.
La DO « Taxonomie et Phylogénie »  possède une expertise considérable dans le domaine de la taxonomie des mammifères, des reptiles, des poissons, des échinodermes (Echinodermata), des crustacés (Crustacea), des araignées (Arachnides), de différents groupes d’insectes, des mollusques (Mollusca), des annélides (partim : Oligochaeta), des vers ronds (Nematoda) et des éponges (Porifera).

Nos vastes collections fournissent de nombreux spécimens de référence et d’étude aux chercheurs qui travaillent aussi ponctuellement sur le terrain, essentiellement en Belgique, en Antarctique, dans le bassin du Congo, dans les îles Galapagos, en Asie du Sud-Est et en Macaronésie.

Dans les laboratoires, la recherche est multidisciplinaire – anatomie, microscopie, bioinformatique et, dans le « Laboratoire de systématique moléculaire », analyse de l'ADN – et utilise les dernières technologies telles que le séquençage de l'ADN nouvelle génération (NGS), la tomodensitométrie et la modélisation de la distribution des espèces.

Bien que la recherche au sein de la DO ait généralement un caractère fondamental, elle fournit aussi des applications telles que la construction de bases de données (publiques) sur la biodiversité, le développement et l'application de méthodes d'identification, et l’enrichissement de collections de référence.

La DO attache également une grande importance aux services et aux activités pour le grand public, en organisant des « visites dans les coulisses », conférences et séminaires, en identifiant des spécimens, en soutenant des initiatives de « science citoyenne », en publiant des articles de vulgarisation scientifique et en répondant aux questions des médias et du public.

Go to top