Dredging

Dredging vessel

A major problem for Belgian seaports is the fact that the channels and harbours silt up very quickly. The zone between Ostend and the mouth of the Western Scheldt is known as one of ‘maximum turbidity’, meaning that it is a zone where the fine material in the water is at a maximum. 

Due to this silting up of the access channels, the government is obliged to carry out major dredging works to ensure the necessary depth of the channels and ports. Most of the dredged material is redeposited at sea at designated dumping sites. Every year around 10 million tons of material (dry matter) is dredged and redeposited in the sea. Part of this material is, however, displaced from the dumping sites and moves back to the places from where it was originally dredged, meaning that it has to be dredged again. Research is therefore needed to find more efficient dumping sites where the material is more likely to remain in place. 

Knowledge of the origin and movement of fine mud in the water is also important for other reasons. The quantity of material in suspension also determines water transparency and the high concentration of material in suspension is the reason why the Belgian seawater looks so grey. Water transparency is an important factor for organisms that live in the water and on the seabed, and which need light to grow and live. It is also known that polluting substances can attach themselves to these very fine particles. 

Go to top

Dragage

Un navire de dragage

L’un des principaux problèmes des ports maritimes belges est que les chenaux et ports s’envasent très rapidement. La zone entre Ostende et l’embouchure de l’Escaut occidental est en effet connue pour son « maximum de turbidité », c’est-à-dire qu’il s’agit d’une zone où l’on trouve un maximum de matériaux fins dans l’eau.

Des suites de l’envasement des chenaux, les autorités sont contraintes de réaliser d’importants travaux de dragage pour garantir une profondeur suffisante dans les chenaux et les ports. La majeure partie des déblais de dragage sont rejetés en mer dans ce que l’on appelle des zones de déversement. Chaque année, environ 10 millions de tonnes (matière sèche) de matière sont dragués et rejetés en mer. Mais une partie des déblais de dragage disparaît ensuite des zones de déversement pour retourner d’où elle vient et doit donc être draguée à nouveau. Des recherches portant sur des zones de déversement plus efficaces, d’où les déblais ne peuvent disparaître, sont donc très souhaitables.

La connaissance des mouvements et de l’origine des fines boues présentes dans l’eau est également importante pour d’autres raisons. La quantité de matière en suspension détermine en effet la transparence de l’eau : la concentration élevée de matière en suspension explique d’ailleurs  pourquoi l’eau de mer est si grise en Belgique. La transparence de l’eau est importante pour les organismes qui vivent dans l’eau et sur le fond marin, et qui ont besoin de lumière pour se développer et vivre. Mais l’on sait aussi que des matières polluantes peuvent se fixer à ces très fines particules.
 

Go to top