Our scientific expertise covers the study, sustainable management, and conservation of our natural heritage. Our research allows us to effectively advise political decision makers at a national and international level on developing adequate and sustainable measures for conserving biodiversity, on monitoring the state of the marine environment, and even on researching the possibilities of capturing and storing industrial CO2 from a geological perspective.

We develop tools, models, and methods for monitoring species and biotopes on land and at sea. We train scientists on site and in developing countries, largely in order to help these countries to implement the Convention on Biological Diversity. Our institute is the Belgian National Focal Point for this convention (CBD NFP). It also represents Belgium in the negotiation and application of several other international conventions and treaties relating to the environment.

We provide researchers at other Belgian and European scientific institutions with the great research facilities that we manage. These include the Belgica (the national oceanographic research ship), as well as, of course, the enormous collection of animals, fossils, and rocks that have been built up throughout our history.

 

Go to top

Notre expertise scientifique porte sur l’étude, la gestion durable et la conservation du patrimoine naturel. Nos recherches nous permettent de conseiller utilement les décideurs politiques nationaux et internationaux pour l’élaboration de mesures de conservation adéquates et durables de la biodiversité, pour le suivi du bon état des zones marines, ou encore pour l’étude des possibilités de stockage du CO2 industriel en contexte géologique.

Nous développons des outils, des modèles et des méthodes pour le monitoring des espèces et des biotopes, sur terre et en mer. Nous formons des scientifiques sur place mais aussi dans des pays émergents, essentiellement afin d’aider ces pays dans leur mise en œuvre de la Convention sur le Diversité Biologique. Notre Institut est le Point Focal National belge pour cette convention (PFN-CBD) ; il représente aussi la Belgique dans la négociation et la mise en œuvre de plusieurs autres Conventions et traités internationaux relatifs à l’environnement.

Nous mettons à la disposition de chercheurs d’autres institutions scientifiques belges et européennes les grandes infrastructures de recherche dont nous sommes les gestionnaires, comme le Belgica – le navire de recherche océanographique national – et évidemment les très grandes collections d’animaux, de fossiles et de roches constituées au fil de l’histoire.

Découvrez bientôt sur les pages des trois directions opérationnelles ainsi que sur les pages relatives aux collections, les différents services scientifiques que nous rendons.

 

Go to top