Marine Forecast Centre

Sailing boat

Are you getting ready for a sea voyage or a family trip to the beach? Are you looking for forecasts for the times of high and low tides? Wave height forecasts? Sea temperature forecasts? Do you want to know the strength and direction of marine currents? The salinity of the sea water?

Look no further, the OD Nature Marine Forecast Centre calculates them for you!

Formerly known as the ‘Management Unit of the North Sea Mathematic Models’, since 1976 our marine forecast centre has been developing, maintaining and operating a collection of three-dimensional models of marine forecasts for storm surges, waves and currents in the North Sea and the Channel, with a focus on the Belgian economic zone.

Helping the Public

Using similar techniques to those used by weather forecasting models, twice a day our models calculate five-day forecasts of all the physical parameters which determine marine traffic in the Channel and the North Sea. These forecasts are published on our website and are destined for a large audience. They are also central to the numerous specialised applications in support of civil protection, maritime safety, research and/or economic activities.

High seas
Protecting Civilians

Often considered to be the most reliable for the south bay of the Nord Sea, our marine forecasts are one of the main sources of information used on a daily basis by the Royal Meteorological Institute of Belgium and by the Ostend oceanographic and meteorological station during the preparation of their respective marine reports.

It is on the basis of our models forecasts of storm surges that the governor of West Flanders activated the emergency plan against the risk of flooding during the famous storm of Saint-Nicolas in 2013.

Aiding Research and the Private Sector

Marine environments are particularly dynamic environments where it is often difficult to achieve the long series of measurements necessary for the completion of a research project or various feasibility studies. This is why we are regularly contacted by academics or engineers working in research departments in order to obtain time series of the parameters produced by our models.    

Tricolor
Helping the Coast Guard, Maritime Safety and Protection of the Environment

The Belgian part of the North Sea is intersected by two of the busiest maritime routes in the world. The Belgian part of the North Sea is thus a zone that is particularly sensitive to maritime risks like collisions between ships, shipwrecks, men overboard, the loss of cargo, the loss of containers and the accidental or illegal discharge of hydrocarbons or of harmful or potentially dangerous chemical substances. All of these risks are taken very seriously by the Belgian Coast Guard

In support of the Belgian Coast Guard, our Marine Forecast Centre has developed a model capable of predicting the trajectory of objects floating on the surface of the sea or of marine pollution. Thanks to its internet interface (OSERIT), the operators of MUMM or the central office of the Belgian Coast Guard can activate the model at any moment and thus, in a few minutes, obtain useful information about evaluations to be carried out in the event of an incident at sea. For example, in the event of a hydrocarbon spill, the information provided by the model makes it possible to estimate the risk of the hydrocarbons reaching the shore, but also to forecast how pollution will be displaced in the sea, or to accurately locate a hydrocarbon spill during operations to combat this pollution at sea.

Storm
International Recognition

The quality of our department is internationally recognised. A founding member of EuroGOOS, we exchange our forecasts on a daily basis with the 24 institutes which are members of the NOOS network, from all 9 countries that border the North Sea. We also operate a drift service for the EMSA, the European maritime safety agency (EMSA). This recognition enables us to be involved as a partner or coordinator in research projects which have been co-financed by the European Commission and are linked to operational oceanography.

Go to top

Le centre de prévisions marines

Voilier

Vous préparez une sortie en mer ou bien juste une excursion familiale à la plage ?  Vous recherchez des prévisions pour les heures de marées hautes et de matées basses ?  Des prévisions de la hauteur des vagues ? Des prévisions de la température de l’eau de mer ? De la force et la direction des courants marins ? De la salinité de l’eau de mer ?

Ne cherchez plus, le centre de prévisions marines de la DO Nature les calcule pour vous !

Anciennement connu sous le nom de «Unité de Gestion du Modèle Mathématique de la mer du Nord»,  notre centre de prévisions marines développe, maintient  et  opère  depuis 1976 un ensemble de modèles  de prévisions marines pour les marées tempêtes, les vagues et les courants de la mer du nord et de la manche,  avec bien sûr un intérêt plus important pour la zone économique exclusive de la Belgique.

Un service au public

Utilisant des techniques similaires à celles employées par les modèles de prévisions météorologiques, nos modèles calculent deux  fois par jour des prévisions à cinq jours de l’ensemble des paramètres physiques déterminant la circulation marine dans la manche et la mer du nord. Ces prévisions sont publiées sur notre site internet à l’attention d’un large public. Mais elles sont aussi au cœur de nombreuses applications spécialisées en soutien à la protection civile, à la sécurité maritime, à la recherche et/ou aux activités économiques.

Tempête à bord du RV Belgica
Un service à la protection civile

Souvent considérées comme les plus fiables pour la baie sud de la mer du Nord, nos prévisions marines sont une des principales sources d'information utilisées quotidiennement par l'Institut Royal Météorologique de Belgique et par la  station océanographique et météorologique d'Ostende lors de la préparation de leurs bulletins marins respectifs.

C'est ainsi sur base des prédictions de nos modèles de marées tempêtes que le gouverneur de Flandre Occidentale a activé le plan d'urgence contre les risques de marées submersives lors de la fameuse tempête de la Saint-Nicolas 2013.

Un service à la recherche et au secteur privé

Le milieu marin est un milieu particulièrement dynamique où il est souvent difficile de réaliser les longues séries de mesures nécessaires à la réalisation d’un projet de recherche ou de diverses études de faisabilité. C’est pourquoi nous sommes régulièrement contactés par des universitaires ou des ingénieurs travaillant dans des bureaux d’étude afin d’obtenir des séries temporelles des paramètres issus de nos modèles. 

Tricolor
Un service à la garde côtière, à la sécurité maritime et à la protection de l'environnement

La partie belge de la mer du Nord est croisée par deux des routes maritimes les plus densément naviguées au monde. La partie belge de mer du Nord est donc une zone particulièrement sensible pour les risque maritimes comme les collisions entre bateaux, les naufrages, les hommes à la mer,  les pertes de cargaison, les pertes de conteneurs et les rejets accidentels ou illicites d’hydrocarbures ou de substances chimiques nocives ou potentiellement dangereuses.  L’ensemble de ces risques est pris très au sérieux par la Structure garde côtière belge

En support à la garde côtière belge, notre centre de prévisions marines a développé un modèle capable de prédire la trajectoire d’objets dérivant à la surface de la mer ou de pollutions marines.   Grâce à son interface internet, les opérateurs de l’UGMM ou de la centrale de la Garde Côtière belge peuvent activer le modèle à tout moment et ainsi obtenir en quelques minutes des informations utiles aux  évaluations à réaliser lors d’un incident en mer.  Par exemple, en cas de rejet d’hydrocarbure, l’information livrée par le modèle permet d’estimer le risque d’échouage des hydrocarbures à la côte, mais également de prévoir comment une pollution se déplacera en mer, ou de localiser avec précision une nappe d’hydrocarbures lors d’opérations de combat de cette pollution en mer.

Tempête
Une reconnaissance internationale

La qualité de notre service est reconnue internationalement. Membre fondateur d’EuroGOOS, nous échangeons quotidiennement nos prévisions avec les 24 instituts membres du réseau NOOS, issus des 9 pays bordant la mer du Nord étendue. Nous opérons aussi un service de dérive au profit de l’EMSA, l’agence européenne pour la sécurité maritime (EMSA). Cette reconnaissance nous permet de participer comme partenaire ou coordinateur à des projets de recherche cofinancés par la commission européenne et lié à l’océanographie opérationnelle.

Go to top